cricket20 :: Big Bash champs start with easy win
KFC Big Bash League News
Big Bash champs start with easy win

Philip Hughes and David Warner powered the defending KFC Big Bash champions to an easy 31 run victory over the Tasmanian Tigers at the Bellerive Oval.

Hughes and Warner showed once again why the SpeedBlitz Blues claimed the inaugural Twenty20 Champions League title with a wonderful display of batting.

The Tigers were faced with a run chase of 195 to claim the victory but a middle order collapse saw the Blues claim an easy win.

Rhett Lockyear (25) and Tim Paine (48) enjoyed a good start for the Tigers with a 44 run partnership but Lockyear was caught by Dwayne Smith of the bowling of Mitchell Starc in the 3rd over.

Smith took his second catch of the game to remove Paine three overs later to leave the Tigers 86/2. Despite the lose of two wickets the Tigers were still well placed for victory before the middle order collapsed.

George Bailey (16), Travis Birt (9), Alex Doolan (3) and Jason Krejza (2) all failed to reach double figures as the Tigers collapsed to 114-6 in the 11th over.

The damage had been done and the Tigers were unable to recover.

After winning the toss and electing to bat the Blues got to work straight away with Hughes and Warner attacking the Tasmanian Tigers bowlers as the pair enjoy a a great start.

Warner was in impressive form hitting a quick fire 67 from just 24 balls before being run out in the 6th over after a partnership of 97 with Hughes. His tally included 6 fours and an amazing 5 sixes.

Phil Jaques came out to the crease but he was unable to continue Warner's blitz as the veteran only lasted 11 balls before being dismissed for just 10.

With the loss of two quick wickets the Tigers sensed an opportunity to get back into the game but Hughes, partnered by Moises Henriques, lead the Blues to a large total with a partnership of 57.

Henriques was bowled by Naved-ul-Hasan in the 17th over for 37 but the Blues were still able to power to 194 and set the Tigers a large total to chase.

t20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB