cricket20 :: Daredevils win the toss and aim to set total
t20 World Cup News
Daredevils win the toss and aim to set total

Delhi Daredevils captain Gautam Gambhir won the toss and elected to bat against Victoria Bushrangers in the third match of the Champions League at the Feroz Shah Kotla in New Delhi on Friday.

Delhi have lost three overseas players - South African AB de Villiers, England's Paul Collingwood and Daniel Vettori of New Zealand - in quick succession on the run-up to the cash-rich 12-team event.

McGrath, who replaced Collingwood, and Australian paceman Dirk Nannes could forge a lethal pair, which has the ability to inflict early blows and break the backbone of opponent line-ups.

In the absence of experienced Vettori, Indian leg-spinner Amit Mishra would be a key member of Delhi's bowling armoury, while Rajat Bhatia's medium pace may help Delhi get some breakthroughs.

Gambhir would be the mainstay of the batting order, while their performance would depend on how the others like Ranji Trophy regulars Bhatia and Mithun Manhas chip in with their bats.

On the other hand, Australian side Victoria's batting order boasts of Brad Hodge, David Hussey and Cameron White - all of whom would draw from their IPL experience.

Pacer Peter Siddle might be the man on whom skipper White would depend highly as the other Victoria bowlers lack the experience of often placid sub-continent pitch.

Lack of experience on Victoria's part is something Gambhir would like to capitalise on in order to get off to a winning start in the showpiece event.

t20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB