cricket20 :: Daredevils elect to bat against Wayamba
t20 World Cup News
Daredevils elect to bat against Wayamba

Delhi Daredevils captain Gautam Gambhir won the toss and elected to bat against Wayamba in the seventh match of the Champions League at Feroz Shah Kotla in New Delhi.

Delhi have brought in Glenn McGrath in place of Pradeep Sangwan and replaced the injured Mithun Manhas by Manoj Tiwary.

Daredevils had a disastrous start to their Champions League campaign as Victoria Bushrangers humiliated them by seven wickets in their own backyard in the opening match, which means the game against Wayamba is a must-win situation for them.

The Daredevils batting-line boasts of some big names like swashbuckling India opener Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Owais Shah among others but they cut a sorry figure against a disciplined Victoria attack as the Delhi side could manage only 98 runs.

In absence of Daniel Vettori, AB de Villiers and Paul Collingwood, who are out due to injuries, Daredevils middle-order looked out of sorts against the Victoria side.

Delhi's bowling department was hardly tested in the low-scoring game against Victoria. Dirk Nannes and Ashish Nehra were far from impressive in the low and slow Feroz Shah Kotla track. Leg-spinner Amit Mishra failed to exploit the conditions and went for runs.

Wayamba, on the other hand, are an unknown entity in this tournament and do not have any foreign recruit in their side, which might work in their favour considering the gelling among the players.

With the likes of former Sri Lankan captain Mahela Jayawardene, Jehan Mubarak, Farveez Maharoof, Ajantha Mendis, Isuru Udana among others up its rank, Wayamba has plenty of international experience in their team.

The batting line-up will mainly revolve around Mubarak, Jayawardene and all-rounder Maharoof, who has a fair idea about the strengths and weakness of Daredevils as he plays for the Delhi side in the Indian Premier League.

On the bowling front, Wayamba has a formidable spin attack in Mendis, left-arm orthodox Rangana Herath and leg-break bowler Kaushal Lokuarachichi, who will come more than handy in the slow Kotla wicket.

t20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB