cricket20 :: Bangalore win the toss, elects to bat
t20 World Cup News
Bangalore win the toss, elects to bat

Bangalore Royal Challengers skipper Anil Kumble won the toss and elected to bat against New Zealand side Otago Volts in a must-win situation in the Champions League encounter at the Chinnaswamy Stadium on Monday.

Having lost a match each to Cape Cobras, only the winner of this final Group C clash will go through to the next round. The losers can go back, try and top their respective leagues again next year and make a comeback to the Champions League.

For hosts RCB, the inability to defend a total of 180 in their opener would have come as a rude shock.

Perhaps it calls for strengthening the bowling, which should straightaway mean the inclusion of Dale Steyn, one of the quickest bowlers in the world. But thanks to the rule that restricts a team from playing more than four foreigners, it is not that straightforward a decision.


Royal Challengers Bangalore: A Kumble (captain), B Kumar, B Akhil, R Bishnoi, MV Boucher, R Dravid, JH Kallis, V Kohli, P Kumar, MK Pandey, DW Steyn, LRPL Taylor, RV Uthappa, RE van der Merwe, R Vinay Kumar

Otago: CD Cumming (captain), NB Beard, NT Broom, IG Butler, DC de Boorder, MJ Harvie, BB McCullum, NL McCullum, JM McMillan, WC McSkimming, AD Mascarenhas, AJ Redmond, HD Rutherford, GR Todd, N Wagner

t20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB