cricket20 :: Chargers dumped out, Trinidad celebrate
t20 World Cup News
Chargers dumped out, Trinidad celebrate

The Deccan Chargers were dumped out of the Champions League in the group stages after losing by 3 runs against Trinidad and Tobago in a tense game at the Rajiv Gandhi Stadium.

IPL reigning Champions Deccan Chargers crashed out of Champions League after losing to Trinidad & Tobago in a dramatic fashion in front of packed home crowd at Hyderabad.

Chasing 150 runs for victory, Deccan started on a miserable note after their star batsmen VVS Laxman found himself plumb in front of the wicket on a Bravo delivery which swung back in after pitching way outside the off stump.

The wicket immediately meant that adrenaline were running high in the T &T camp who sensed a out side chance to restrict the home crowd knowing their opponents vulnerability at the venue.

Bravo was in action again as he then got rid off Abhinav Kumar for 1.

But, skipper Gilchrist kept one end intact and ensured that all was not lost for Hyderabad and tormented T & T bowlers with piercing strokes all across the park and kept the home side in hunt.

Gilchrist however got no support from his fellow countryman Andrew Symonds, who got himself run out while attempting a needless run.

With action happening thick and fast Rohit Sharma came to the crease and gave good support to Gilchrist. Sharma scored valuable 25 runs but threw his wicket on a loose shot.

At 125/5, with Venugopal Rao and Scott Styris in the middle Hyderabad were well on course for a much deserved win but a brilliant last over by West Indian D Bravo saw the home side just 3 runs shot of the total.

In the end, 146/9 after 20 overs meant the IPL Champions are out of the inaugural T20 Champions League.

Earlieer, sent in to bat, the Caribbean side kept losing wickets at regular intervals to squander a flying start.

Polard uncorked some lusty shots towards the fag end to lift his side to a competitive total, hitting four sixes in his crucial 31-run cameo off just 14 balls.

Perkins` 38 came off 32 balls with the help of six hits to the fence.

Fidel Edwards, who was barred from bowling in the last match for firing two beamers, made amends by taking three wickets, including one that of Polard.

The Caribbean batsmen took some time to settle on the pitch which offered some resistance to paceman initially.

Edwards made a good start by trapping Lendl Simmons (7) in the first ball of his second over.

Next man in, left-handed Darren Bravo also struggled against a charged up Edwards for the first few balls before playing an exquisite cover drive for four.

RP Singh struggled with his run-up and bowled three consecutive no-balls, resulting in free-hits even though the batsmen could not make the most of those.

Perkins welcomed Scott Styris with consecutive boundaries and the Caribbean side was off to a decent if not spectacular start.

Darren (14) flicked one off T Suman to bring up fifty for his side but the spinner had the last laugh in the next ball when he pouched a return catch.

More shock was in store for Trinidad & Tobago as two balls later a direct throw by Andrew Symonds from mid-off found rival skipper Daren Ganga, trying to steal a run, short of crease.

Gilchrist shuffled his bowlers and by the ninth over he had used six different bowlers.

Perkins continued good batting from one end, hitting Pragyan Ojha for a four and Symonds for a six to take his team to 75 at the half-way mark.

Perkins also got a life when Y Venugopal Rao dropped him at deep-midwicket off Ojha.

Gilchrist called Edwards for his second and the paceman responded with the wicket of Perkins, trapping him in front.

Suman dropped Dwayne Bravo (11) off RP Singh at point but made amends as he swiftly grabbed the ball and with a direct hit ran the West Indian out.

Polard infused life into the Trinidad & Tobago innings by hitting Ojha and Suman for mighty sixes in consecutive overs.

He did not even spare Edwards, hitting him for a flat six, before being bowled by the same bowler.

t20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB