cricket20 :: Bushrangers looking to clinch semi final spot
t20 World Cup News
Bushrangers looking to clinch semi final spot

Virtually through to semi-final after a comprehensive win over Royal Challengers Bangalore, Victoria Bushrangers would strive to consolidate their position when they take on Cape Cobras in a Champions League match on Saturday.

Victoria put up an all-round performance to overcome the Bangalore team by seven wickets on Thursday and would confirm their berth in the final-four stage if they defeat the South Africans in the league B encounter.

On other hand, Cobras who have entered second round as the Group C topper after beating both the Royal Challengers and Otago Volts, would like to maintain their victorious journey in the 12-team event.

Skipper Andrew Puttick, who has cracked a century and figuring second in the list of highest run getters in the USD six million tournament, would be the mainstay of Cobras' batting order.

But the captain would also rely heavily on the likes of middle-order batsman J P Duminy and experienced Herschelle Gibbs for some timely contributions in Saturday's match.

Duminy had scored an aggressive 52-ball 99 in his side's five-wicket victory over Royal Challengers in the tournament opener, while skipper Puttick had left Otago stunned with his breezy 62-ball 104 on Saturday.

Meanwhile, experienced Brad Hodge and David Hussey would lead the Victoria batting department with the trio of captain Cameron White, Aiden Blizzard and Andrew McDonald also have to chip in with the bat.

The Bushrangers looked a promising outfit when they went off to a winning start in the tournament, beating Delhi Daredevils, but soon lost their rhythm and suffered a 15-run defeat at the hands of otherwise inexperienced Wayamba Elevens of Sri Lanka.

However, the Australians are now back in their elements and the Proteas should brace up to negotiate a stiff challenge from the side, which was considered by many as one of the title contenders.

Teams (from):

Cape Cobras: Andrew Puttick (C), Derek Brand, Ryan Canning, Henry Davids, Jean-Paul Duminy, Sybrand Engelbrecht, Herschelle Gibbs, Claude Henderson, Rory Kleinveldt, Richard Levi, Justin Ontong, Vernon Philander, Francois Plaatjies, Stiaan van Zyl, Monde Zondeki, Charl Langeveldt.

Victorian Bushrangers: Cameron White (C), Aiden Blizzard, Aaron Finch, Shane Harwood, John Hastings, Brad Hodge, Jon Holland, David Hussey, Andrew McDonald, Bryce McGain, Clint McKay, James Pattinson, Rob Quiney, Peter Siddle, Matthew Wade.

t20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB