cricket20 :: Impressive Indians seal Champions League title
t20 World Cup News
Impressive Indians seal Champions League title

The Mumbai Indians silenced the Royal Challengers Bangalore’s big hitting line up to win the t20 Champions League final thanks to a comprehensive 31 run victory at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

The Indians sealed their first ever title in a low scoring affair after the Royal Challengers failed to chase down a total of just 140 despite chasing down totals of over 200 in their previous two games.

With runs at a premium, New Zealander James Franklin tipped the balance in favour of the Indians thanks to an innings of 41 after the early loss of Aiden Blizzard (3) and Sarul Kanwar (13).

Suryakumar Yadav (24) and Ambati Rayudu (22) enjoyed cameo performances to help the Indians record a total of 139 despite some impressive bowling performances Dirk Nannes (1-14) and Raju Bhatkal (3-21).

With a reasonably small total to chase, the Royal Challengers got off to a good start thanks to Tillakaratne Dilshan (27) and Chris Gayle (5) who shared an opening stand of 38 before Dilshan was bowled by Lasith Malinga (2-23) in the 5th over.

Despite the good start, Gayle, Mayank Agarwal (14) and Virat Kohli (11) quickly followed to leave the Royal Challengers 73-4 at the end of the 12th over thanks to two quick break throughs from Harbhajan Singh (3-20).

With wickets falling at regular intervals the Royal Challengers run chase went off the rails as they slumped to a total of just 108 after Raju Bhatkal (6) was dismissed in the finals over to spark wild celebration on the Indians bench.

t20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB