The umpires who officiated at the Twenty20 final at Trent Bridge on Saturday have admitted they should have called the last delivery of the match as a no-ball.
Notts' Will Smith hit Leicestershire bowler Jim Allenby's last ball for six - but that left Notts four runs short.
However, television replays suggested the delivery was above waist height and should have been called as a no-ball. That would have cost two further runs. Notts would also have been given an extra ball from which to score three runs to win.
Umpires Allan Jones and Peter Hartley have owned up to making a mistake.
"I looked at it on TV when I got back and it was a no-ball. It was a marginal one but it was a no-ball," said Jones.
"I must say that I was concentrating on the four men inside the circle and keeping the water out of my eyes at the time, because it was raining very hard. And I had the lights in my eyes. These calls are often very difficult."
Notts director of cricket Mick Newell was understandably proud of his Notts Outlaws squad.
He said: "The team is unrecognisable from two years ago and the fielding in particular has come on in leaps and bounds."