Kent knock the Kings out

Source -

Three wickets each for Kent's Simon Cook and Yasir Arafat saw the Spitfires guarantee themselves a Twenty20 Cup quarter-final spot with a six-wicket victory over Surrey tonight.

Cook finished with three for 21 and Arafat three for 24 as the Surrey Brown Caps were dismissed for 145 at The Oval - only Mark Ramprakash looking in form with 33 from 24 balls.

Then Darren Stevens scored an unbeaten 46 from 35 balls - and with Matthew Walker scoring 39 from 28 balls, the Spitfires reached their target with five balls to spare.

Joe Denly was first to go for Kent, beaten by a full-length delivery from Matt Nicholson in the fourth over. Walker and captain Martin van Jaarsveld then shared a 44-run partnership before the left-hander edged to the wicketkeeper.

Van Jaarsveld was then bowled by Nayan Doshi in the 10th over, and Geraint Jones smashed a full toss straight to midwicket.

Earlier, Surrey's batsmen had been quickly into their stride - with both James Benning and Alistair Brown looking to force the pace.

Morne Morkel bowled Brown off a free hit but then had Benning snapped up by Jones as the Surrey opener backed away.

Brown soon followed, beaten by a Ryan McLaren yorker.

The next wicket to fall was that of Mark Butcher, who mistimed a straight drive and holed out to long-on.

Ramprakash and Azhar Mahmood pushed the score past 100, before Cook struck with two wickets in one over.

First to go was Azhar, clean bowled as he looked to play through the off-side - ending a stand of 38.

With the final ball of the 13th over, Cook then had Ramprakash mis-hitting a pull straight to Denly at deep square leg.

Rikki Clarke gave Arafat his first wicket, slicing to backward point - and Jonathan Batty then drove to long-on.

Chris Schofield was bowled playing across the line, and then the last two wickets were snapped up in the final over.
Cricket tickets
England vs India tickets
England vs Sri Lanka tickets
Twenty20 finals day tickets
Buy or sell tickets on Seatwave
Europe's No1 Ticket Exchange
T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB