McDonald innings in vain as Falcons claim win

Aaron Moores | cricket20

Andrew McDonald scored an impressive half century on his Twenty20 debit for the Leicestershire Foxes but it wasn’t enough to save his teams from crashing to a 11 run defeat against the Derbyshire Falcons.

Set a total of 166 for victory the Foxes run chase got off to a slow start losing Brad Hodge (5) and Jacques Du Toit (15) before McDonald’s innings kept the Foxes hopes alive.

Despite remaining at the crease throughout the innings McDonald only had one meaningful partnership which contributed 43 runs which he shared with Paul Nixon.

Once Nixon (24) was dismissed in the 14th over the Falcons sensed an impressive victory with McDonald (67) running out of partners as the Foxes slumped to defeat.

Earlier Loots Bosman impressed on his Falcons debut scoring an impressive 37 to help his side set the Leicestershire Foxes a target of 166 at Grace Road.

Having been put into bat by Matthew Hoggard the Falcons got off to a slow start with Harry Gurney conceding just 7 runs from his first three over spell to leave the visitors 35-1 after 8 overs.

After scoring just 2 runs from 13 balls Bosman burst into life smashing 3 fours and 2 sixes with Brad Hodge and Andrew McDonald proving expensive conceding 39 runs from their two over stints.

Having shared a partnership of 47 with Greg Smith; Bosman’s innings was ended by Hodge who bowled the South African at the start of the 10th over to leave the Falcons 73-2.

Smith (30) remained at the crease and with the help of Robin Peterson (29) the pair put on a vital partnership of 53 before to lead the Falcons to a competitive total of 165-5.
Cricket tickets
England vs India tickets
England vs Sri Lanka tickets
Twenty20 finals day tickets
Buy or sell tickets on Seatwave
Europe's No1 Ticket Exchange
T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB