Royals seal impressive victory over Bears

Javinder Singh | cricket20

The Hampshire Royals claim 6 wicket victory over the Warwickshire Bears to seal a place in the Friends Provident t20 Finals day for the first time.

Faced with a target of 154 for victory James Vince (66) lead the way for the visitors who sealed a place in the Finals Day which will be hosted by the Royals on Saturday, August 14th.

The Royals got off to a perfect start thanks to a 34 run partnership between Jimmy Adams (18) and Abdul Razzaq (33) before the prolific Adams was dismissed by Neil Carter.

With the loss of Adams; Vince came to the crease to play a vital role for the Royals and although Razzaq soon followed the visitors were always in control.

Having batted first the Bears were rescued by Tim Ambrose and Rikki Clarke who shared a 5th wicket partnership of 58 after they had been reduced to 95-5 by the Royals.

The Royals got off to a perfect start thanks to Dominic Cork who bowled Neil Carter (1) from just the 4th delivery of the day.

Despite the early lose Darren Maddy (44) and Keith Barker (28) combined forces to build a vital second wicket partnership of 49 to help the Bears reach 51-1 at the end of the power play overs.

With a big score on the cards Danny Briggs hit back to remove Barker’s middle stump with the first delivery of the 7th over.

Maddy and skipper Jim Troughton added another 36 runs to the Bears total before Briggs claimed the vital wicket of Maddy mid way through the 10th over.

Troughton (12) and Ian Westwood (5) soon followed to leave the home side 95-5 but their chances of reaching the Friends Provident t20 Finals Day were strengthened thanks to Tim Ambrose (31) and Rikki Clarke (27).

With only the lower order beneath them the pair didn’t panic as the calmly built their game changing partnership of 55 which allowed the Bears to reach 153-5.
Cricket tickets
England vs India tickets
England vs Sri Lanka tickets
Twenty20 finals day tickets
Buy or sell tickets on Seatwave
Europe's No1 Ticket Exchange
T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB