Leicestershire v Essex

Leicestershire Foxes captain Jeremy Snape’s surprising decision to bat after winning the toss paid off as the Foxes progressed to their second Twenty20 Cup Final with a 23 run victory over the Essex Eagles.

The Eagles were always chasing the game from the start, England hopeful Stuart Broad opened the attack conceding just one run and trapping Ronnie Irani plum LBW, umpire George Sharp felt otherwise and let the Eagles off the hook.

Irani was soon gone tough being caught behind by wicketkeeper Paul Nixon for 0 off the bowling of a very happy Broad, despite Mark Pettini’s 57 the Eagles never looked in the chase.

Snape then came into the attack and ripped out the Eagles middle order finishing with figures of 4 for 22 and putting the Foxes on course for the Final.

Earlier after winning the toss Hylton Ackerman and Darren Maddy got of to a very slow start as Darren Gough and Andy Bichel controlled the game allowing only 20 runs off the first 4 overs.

The run rate slowly increased during the innings but the Foxes looked to have got bog down in the middle of the inning as Graham Napier took 2 wickets from his four overs.

After the slow start Ackerman looked to have found his form as the Foxes started to increase their run rate as he and Nixon enjoyed a 50 run partnership before Nixon tried to take a horrible single resulting in Ackerman being run out for 63.

It was left to Nixon and Snape to see the Foxes home hitting Gough and Bichel around the ground to set the Eagles a target of 174 which in the end was more then enough.

Trent Bridge: Saturday 12 August 2006 (20-over match) (1-day match)

Result: Leicestershire won by 23 runs

Toss: Leicestershire
Umpires: P J Hartley, G Sharp


Essex M L Pettini, R C Irani, D Gough, A N Cook, R S Bopara, R N ten Doeschate, J S Foster, J D Middlebrook, G R Napier, A J Bichel, T J Phillips

Leicestershire D L Maddy, H D Ackerman, J Allenby, Mansoor Amjad, P A Nixon, J L Sadler, J N Snape, C W Henderson, D D Masters, S C J Broad, A R Griffith

HD Ackermanrun out644961
DL Maddyc RC Iranib GR Napier212220
J Allenbyc TJ Phillipsb GR Napier161111
+PA Nixonnot out573361
*JN Snapelbwb AJ Bichel10520
Extras(b 0, lb 3, nb 0, w 2)5
Total(Close, 20 overs)173 

Did not bat:
Mansoor Amjad, JL Sadler, CW Henderson, DD Masters, SCJ Broad, AR Griffith

Fall of Wickets:
1-42 (42 DL Maddy, 26 mins), 2-70 (28 J Allenby, 11 mins), 3-147 (77 HD Ackerman, 27 mins), 4-173 (26 JN Snape, 6 mins)

D Gough40310(1w)
AJ Bichel40281-
GR Napier40242-
RS Bopara40380(1w)
TJ Phillips20240-
JD Middlebrook20250-


ML PettiniHit wicketb JN Snape573290
*RC Iranic PA Nixonb SCJ Broad0700
AN Cookrun out91610
D Goughc J Allenbyb CW Henderson101310
RS Boparac J Allenbyb JN Snape5800
RN ten Doeschatec DL Maddyb JN Snape191420
+JS Fosterc HD Ackermanb J Allenby141020
JD Middlebrookc J Allenbyb JN Snape1300
AJ Bichelnot out12810
GR Napierc Mansoor Amjadb AR Griffith7610
TJ Phillipsnot out5400
Extras(b 0, lb 2, nb 2, w 7)11
Total(Close, 20 overs)150 

Fall of Wickets:
1-17 (17 RC Irani, 11 mins), 2-48 (31 AN Cook, 19 mins), 3-82 (34 ML Pettini, 16 mins), 4-84 (2 D Gough, 1 min), 5-108 (24 RS Bopara, 10 mins), 6-109 (1 RN ten Doeschate), 7-124 (15 JD Middlebrook, 5 mins), 8-127 (3 JS Foster, 4 mins), 9-140 (13 GR Napier, 4 mins)

SCJ Broad40231(2w)
AR Griffith40311(1w)
DD Masters20200-
DL Maddy10110-
JN Snape40224(1w)
CW Henderson30251(1w)
J Allenby20161-
2007 Twenty20 Cup
Fixtures / Results
Group Tables
2006 Twenty20 Cup
Fixtures / Results
Group Tables
2005 Twenty20 Cup
Fixtures / Results
Group Tables
2004 Twenty20 Cup
Fixtures / Results
Group Tables
2003 Twenty20 Cup
Fixtures / Results
Group Tables