Nottinghamshire v Surrey

Ryan Sidebottom and Charlie Shrek devastated the Surrey Brown Caps top order with a stunning opening spell to set up a clash with Leicestershire in the Final of the Twenty20 Cup at Trent Bridge.

Chasing a total of 177 to reach their third Twenty20 final the Brown Caps struggled from the word go as Sidebottom produced some inspired bowling while Shrek at the other end removed James Benning and Ali Brown with the score on just 6.

By the time Sidebottom and Shrek had finished their 4 overs each Surrey were left stunned on 26-4, despite not getting a wicket Sidebottom finished with unbelievable figures of 0-7.

With only 8 overs gone the game was already over with only Mark Ramprakash showing any kind of resistant, two shocking run outs didnít help Surreys progress and once Ramprakash went for 19 the game was over.

The Outlaws strangle hold on the game continued with Greame Swann, Paul Franks and Gareth Clough picking up further wickets including two in two balls for Clough to lead the Outlaws to victory despite a resistant 58 from Rikki Clarke.

Earlier after winning the toss Outlaws captain Stephen Flemming decided to bat hoping to set the Brown Caps a large target.

Spurred on by the home crowd Fleming and Graeme Swann attacked from ball one as Azhar Mahmood and Tim Murtagh were the unlucky bowlers who were dispatched all around Trent Bridge.

The runs only stopped once Indian spinner Anil Kumble came into the attack, Fleming soon went after misjudging a floating ball by Kumble and was stumped for 31, Swann soon followed after being run out by Mahmood after David Hussey decided to take a ill judged single.

After losing Samit Patel for 16 Hussey took control of the game hitting some large sixes around the ground including two into the William Clarke Stand.

Hussey was finally bowled by Kumble thanks to a large inside edge for 42 before Chirs Read hit a quick fire 23, he was stopped by Murtagh but this brought Mark Ealham to the wicket and he crashed 18 of 7 balls including 16 off the last over.

Trent Bridge: Saturday 12 August 2006 (20-over match) (1-day match)

Result: Nottinghamshire won by 37 runs

Toss: Nottinghamshire
Umpires: B Dudleston, A A Jones


Surrey J G E Benning, A D Brown, M R Ramprakash, M A Butcher, R Clarke, Azhar Mahmood, J N Batty, T J Murtagh, I D K Salisbury, A Kumble, N D Doshi

Nottinghamshire G P Swann, S P Fleming, S R Patel, D J Hussey, C M W Read, M A Ealham, W R Smith, P J Franks, G D Clough, R J Sidebottom, C E Shreck

GP Swannrun out322630
*SP Flemingb A Kumble312450
DJ Husseyb A Kumble423004
SR Patelst JN Battyb ND Doshi161320
+CMW Readc MA Butcherb TJ Murtagh231811
MA Ealhamrun out18702
PJ Franksnot out0200
Extras(b 4, lb 4, nb 0, w 6)14
Total(Close, 20 overs)176 

Did not bat:
WR Smith, GD Clough, RJ Sidebottom, CE Shreck

Fall of Wickets:
1-62 (62 SP Fleming, 31 mins), 2-75 (13 GP Swann, 10 mins), 3-106 (31 SR Patel, 9 mins), 4-140 (34 DJ Hussey, 11 mins), 5-155 (15 CMW Read, 5 mins), 6-176 (21 MA Ealham, 7 mins)

Azhar Mahmood40360(3w)
TJ Murtagh30311-
A Kumble40262-
R Clarke20190(2w)
ND Doshi40281-
IDK Salisbury30280(1w)


JGE Benningb CE Shreck0700
AD Brownc WR Smithb CE Shreck5310
MR Ramprakashrun out192411
*MA Butcherrun out1100
R Clarkeb CE Shreck5700
Azhar Mahmoodc WR Smithb GP Swann211331
+JN Battynot out584290
TJ Murtaghc WR Smithb GD Clough7900
IDK Salisburyb GD Clough0100
A Kumbleb PJ Franks8700
ND Doshic WR Smithb MA Ealham1200
Extras(b 0, lb 3, nb 2, w 3, pen 6)14
Total(All out, 19.1 overs)139 

Fall of Wickets:
1-6 (6 AD Brown, 5 mins), 2-6 (0 JGE Benning, 2 mins), 3-9 (3 MA Butcher, 4 mins), 4-16 (7 R Clarke, 5 mins), 5-44 (28 MR Ramprakash, 19 mins), 6-58 (14 Azhar Mahmood, 5 mins), 7-97 (39 TJ Murtagh, 18 mins), 8-97 (0 IDK Salisbury), 9-131 (34 A Kumble, 10 mins), 10-139 (8 ND Doshi, 2 mins)

RJ Sidebottom4070-
CE Shreck40333(1w)
GP Swann40311-
MA Ealham3.10221-
GD Clough20172-
PJ Franks20201(2w)
2007 Twenty20 Cup
Fixtures / Results
Group Tables
2006 Twenty20 Cup
Fixtures / Results
Group Tables
2005 Twenty20 Cup
Fixtures / Results
Group Tables
2004 Twenty20 Cup
Fixtures / Results
Group Tables
2003 Twenty20 Cup
Fixtures / Results
Group Tables