Indian Premier League
Series Home|Latest News|2011 IPL Fixtures|2011 IPL Squads|Team Rankings|Tournament Stats|2010|2009|2008
Chennai Super Kings
Team Home | Squad | Fixtures | Statistics | History

The defending IPL champions come into this year’s tournament full of confidence having retained the services of a number of keys player who helped the Super Kings secure last years IPL crown.

While other franchises rebuilt their squads during the two day Player Auction in January the Super Kings carefully selected their team resigning players like MS Dhoni, Albie Morkel, Murali Vijay and Suresh Raina.

With a core of key players retained the Super Kings go into this year’s event as one of the favorites excepted to reach the IPL finals at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai at the end of May.

The key to the Super Kings success last year was their powerful top order with Vijay and Raina in tremendous form with the bat as the pair scored 910 runs between them.

Raina, the all time leading IPL run scorer ended the tournament with a vital half century in the final which helped the Super Kings secure a 22 run victory against the Mumbai Indians.

Despite missing out on Muttiah Muralitharan the Super Kings bowling attack will once again play a vital role in the Super Kings defence with Doug Bollinger and Tim Southee offering biggest threat with the ball.

Key Player - MS Dhoni, what more can be said about Mahendra Singh Dhoni which hasn’t already been written. The IPL and Champions League winning skipper completed a remarkable year on Saturday night when he lifted the ODI World Cup for India.

Dhoni, now regarded as one of the greatest ever Indian skippers is the driving force behind the Super Kings success with his batting, wicket keeping and on field captaincy.
Latest IPL Headlines
Fearless Bisla leads Knight Riders to IPL title
Defending Champions bat first in the IPL final
Rampaging Super Kings cruise into IPL Final
Sehwag wins the toss, DareDevils bowl first
Dhoni leads Super Kings to eliminator victory
Indians bowl first in eliminator showdown
Impressive Knight Riders cruise into IPL final
Gambhir wins the toss, Knight Riders bat first
Rampant Indians cruise to ten wicket victory

T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB