Indian Premier League
Series Home|Latest News|2011 IPL Fixtures|2011 IPL Squads|Team Rankings|Tournament Stats|2010|2009|2008
Pune Warriors
Team Home | Squad | Fixtures | Statistics | History

The Pune Warriors look set to make a big impact during their inaugural season thanks to a number of higher profile signings which the franchise made during the Player Auction in January.

The team will be lead by all-rounder Yuvraj Singh who cost the franchise $1.8m. Having suffered a disappointing year with the Kings XI Punjab, Yuvraj enters this year’s tournament in the form of his life having been named player of the tournament during the World Cup.

The Warriors also splashed out to sign Robin Uthappa for $2.1m and Ashish Nehra for $850,000. All though Nehra is expected to miss the Warriors opening two games because of a finger injury both players are expected to play major roles for the franchise.

With Yuvraj and Uthappa expected to shine with the bat Mitchell Marsh, Callum Ferguson, Jesse Ryder and Nathan McCullum will all feature in a middle order which looks capable of adding vulable runs during the closing stages of a innings.

The team’s strength looks to be its bowling attack which features Nehra, Wayne Parnell, Jerome Taylor, Kamran Khan, Harpreet Singh and Alfonso Thomas.

Although it looks an attack capable of winning games single handily question makes will be raised over its ability to remain focused throughout the tournament.

Key Player - Yuvraj Singh, what a difference a year makes. Yuvraj seemed to be out of form with bat and ball during last years tournament with the King XI but having helped India win the World Cup Yuvraj looks in the form of his life.
Latest IPL Headlines
Fearless Bisla leads Knight Riders to IPL title
Defending Champions bat first in the IPL final
Rampaging Super Kings cruise into IPL Final
Sehwag wins the toss, DareDevils bowl first
Dhoni leads Super Kings to eliminator victory
Indians bowl first in eliminator showdown
Impressive Knight Riders cruise into IPL final
Gambhir wins the toss, Knight Riders bat first
Rampant Indians cruise to ten wicket victory

T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the ECB).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB