Indian Premier League
Series Home|Latest News|2011 IPL Fixtures|2011 IPL Squads|Team Rankings|Tournament Stats|2010|2009|2008
Rajasthan Royals
Team Home | Squad | Fixtures | Statistics | History

The Rajasthan Royals are a pale shadow of the team which won the inaugural IPL title in 2008 and will struggle once again after facing a winter of legal problems.

Having successfully overturned the BCCI decisions to throw the franchise out of the league the Royals were hit with a $2 million salary cap reduction with limited their plans during the Player Auction.

Despite this Shane Warner returns to skipper the team and with fellow Aussies Shane Watson retained the Royals at least have a backbone to build a team around.

The Royals top order looks to be strong with Watson, Aakash Chopra, Ross Taylor and veteran Indian international Rahul Dravid heading the list.

Any team which includes Warne is bound to be a battler but even with fellow spinner Johan Botha and Watson the bowling attack looks week and with an even weaker squad the Royals could be set for another poor season.

Key Player - Shane Watson, the Aussies made his mark on the international stage coming of age against England in the recent Ashes series.

With a weakened squad the pressure will be on Watson to perform further heroics in the IPL with the bat and bowl to keep the Royals in contention.
Latest IPL Headlines
Fearless Bisla leads Knight Riders to IPL title
Defending Champions bat first in the IPL final
Rampaging Super Kings cruise into IPL Final
Sehwag wins the toss, DareDevils bowl first
Dhoni leads Super Kings to eliminator victory
Indians bowl first in eliminator showdown
Impressive Knight Riders cruise into IPL final
Gambhir wins the toss, Knight Riders bat first
Rampant Indians cruise to ten wicket victory

T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the ECB).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB