Indian Premier League
Series Home|Latest News|2011 IPL Fixtures|2011 IPL Squads|Team Rankings|Tournament Stats|2010|2009|2008
Royal Challengers Bangalore
Team Home | Squad | Fixtures | Statistics | History

Despite reaching the final four in each of the previous two seasons the Royal Challengers Bangalore will be looking to go one step further with a completely revamped team for 2011.

With the exception of a few players most of the team has been completely revamped with the like of Rahul Dravid, Jacques Kallis and Kevin Pietersen dropped by the team.

Instead the Royals Challengers have looked to more youthful players including South Africa AB de Villiers and Sri Lankan Tillakaratne Dilshan.

New skipper Daniel Vettori will also be able to call on the likes of Virat Kohli, Saurabh Tiwary and Cheteshwar Pujara to boost the Royal Challengers top order.

Despite their riches with the bat the Royal Challengers weakness will be their bowling attack which, with the exception of Vettori as no other internationally recognized spinner in the squad.

Although limited by selection Vettori will still be able call on players like Abhimanyu Mithun, Zaheer Khan, Charl Langeveldt and Dirk Nannes to spearhead the franchises attack.

Key Player - Virat Kohli, the big hitting 22 year old was a star in the making last year and its easy to see why he was retained by the Royal Challengers.

Kohli burst onto the international seen smashing 270 runs during last years tournament and the youngster will be expected to play an even larger role in 2011.
Latest IPL Headlines
Fearless Bisla leads Knight Riders to IPL title
Defending Champions bat first in the IPL final
Rampaging Super Kings cruise into IPL Final
Sehwag wins the toss, DareDevils bowl first
Dhoni leads Super Kings to eliminator victory
Indians bowl first in eliminator showdown
Impressive Knight Riders cruise into IPL final
Gambhir wins the toss, Knight Riders bat first
Rampant Indians cruise to ten wicket victory

T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the ECB).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB