Sehwag set to lead Delhi Daredevils
Source -
Virender Sehwag, though his 'icon' status is still pending, is all set to lead 'Delhi Daredevils' in the Indian Premier League (IPL) starting in April.
GMR Holdings, which owns IPL's Delhi franchise, today unveiled the logo and the name of the Twenty20 outfit at the Ferozeshsh Kotla stadium, where the side takes on its Jaipur counterpart in its April 19 IPL opener.

"The Twenty20 extravaganza combines both cricket and entertainment and we see it more as a community venture that links the Delhiites with our company," GMR-IPL CEO Yogesh Shetty said.

The team has also roped in Victoria coach Greg Shippard as its coach, while TA Sekar, chief coach at the MRF Pace Academy in Chennai, has been appointed to look after its cricket operations.

"We have requested the IPL Governing Council to grant Sehwag the 'icon' status so that he can lead this side. Though it has not been finalised, he would lead the team if our request is considered," Senior Director of the GMR group B Vanchi said.

Sekar later revealed that among others, the team was eyeing the Delhi Ranji trio of Mithun Manhas, Rajat Bhatia and Shikhar Dhawan.

"In the mandatory under-22 category, we have identified Viraat Kohli, Pradeep Sangwan and Tanmay Srivastava of UP," he said.

Delhi and District Cricket Association (DDCA) President Arun Jaitley wished the team success and said, "It's a momentous occasion. Fortunately, we have Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh as parts of our catchment area. Delhi is the Ranji champion and UP is the runners-up. All that points to the fact that we can create a formidable team.

"Besides, we have a historic stadium which has been modernised of late offering excellent infrastructure. In the next few days, Kotla would be a floodlit stadium. I think we are in for some exciting time," he said.

BCCI vice president Rajiv Shukla, also secretary of the Uttar Pradesh Cricket Association and member of the IPL Governing Council, was present on the occasion.

The franchise owners go for the bid on Wednesday when 89 players will be up for grabs.