Ganguly elects to bat after showers
Source -
Kolkata Knight Riders won the toss and elected to bat first against Bangalore Royal Challengers in their Indian Premier League tie at the Eden Gardens.
Kolkata Knight Riders and Bangalore Royal Challengers will be fighting it out to stay afloat in the inaugural Indian Premier League at the Eden. Both teams are in similar situation, having won two matches. Knight Riders started their campaign on a bright note, winning their first two matches, but since then have lost four matches on the trot and are lying in fifth place with just four points.

Royal Challengers had a disastrous championship, winning the odd game. In seven matches, the Rahul Dravid-led side has managed to win just two and is at the bottom of the standings. Liquor baron Vijay Mallya has removed the team's chief executive officer Charu Sharma and brought in former Test player Brijesh Patel in his place.

Skipper Rahul Dravid played the lone hand in their last match against Kings XI Punjab that saw five of the Punjab batsmen failing to open their account.

Incidentally, batting has been a serious concern for Knight Riders as well and skipper Sourav Ganguly will have to inspire his boys to raise their game to bring back the team in winning ways.


Kolkata Kinght Riders: Sourav Ganguly, Aakash Chopra, Ajit Agarkar, Ashok Dinda, Brad Hodge, Cheteshwar Pujara, David Hussey, Debabrata Das, Iqbal Abdulla, Ishant Sharma, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Mohammad Hafeez, Murali Kartik, Wriddhuiman Saha, Rohan Banerjee, Salman Butt, Saurasish Lahiri, Siddarth Kaul, Shoaib Akhtar, Tatenda Taibu, Umar Gul, Yashpal Singh.

Royal Challengers: Rahul Dravid, Abdur Razzak, Balachandra Akhil, KP Appanna, Jagadeesh Arunkumar, Praveen Kumar, Devraj Patil, Vinay Kumar, Mark Boucher, Nathan Bracken, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Bharat Chipli, Shreevats Goswami, Anil Kumble, Dale Steyn, Cameron White, Wasim Jaffer, Sunil Joshi, Jacques Kallis, Zaheer Khan, Virat Kohli, Misbah-ul-Haq, Ross Taylor.