Mumbai register sixth consecutive win
Source -
Dwayne Bravo produced the goods with bat and ball to sign off from the Mumbai Indians with a 25-run victory over the Deccan Chargers.
The West Indian all-rounder was playing in his last game before heading off for Test match duty, and he leaves on the back of a man-of-the-match performance that saw him hit 30 runs and take three wickets.

It was Deccan captain Adam Gilchrist who won the toss and elected to field, a decision he may now regret after Mumbai raced to 178 from their 20 overs – although that total could have been much higher.

After star openers Shaid Afridi (0) and Gilchrist (13) produced just 13 runs between them The Chargers always faced an uphill battle, and Mumbai fairly strolled to victory.

A fifth-wicket partnership of 74 between Venugopal Rao (57) and Dwaraka Teja (37) briefly threatened an extraordinary comeback, but Bravo fittingly took the wicket of Rao to guarantee Mumbai’s sixth straight win in The IPL.

Victory strengthens their pursuit of a semi-final place, taking them two points clear in fourth, with two games in hand over their most immediate challengers.

Mumbai’s batting effort was given a massive kick-start by Sanath Jayasuriya, who peppered the leg-side boundary with sweeps, pulls and hooks to smash 36 runs off 15 balls.

Tendulkar was more cautious, having gone for a duck in his last innings, but when Jayasuriya played one big shot too many Abhishek Nayar provided an able back-up – hitting two sixes in a knock of 38 off 24 balls.

The Indians looked set for 200 or more, but Afridi (2-23) and Rao (2-25) put the shackles on with some excellent variation, while RP Singh (3-35) picked up the three wickets he needed to move past Shane Warne as The IPL’s leading wicket-taker.

Bravo’s contribution down the order was important in making sure The Indians kept the momentum, smashing a rapid 30 off 17 balls to set a 179-run victory target.