Gilchrist wins toss and selects to bat
Source -
Deccan Chargers captain Adam Gilchrist has won the toss and elected to bat first in the eighth match of the second edition of the Indian Premier League against Bangalore Royal Challengers at Newlands in Cape Town on Wednesday.
Bangalore have replaced R Vinay Kumar and Ross Taylor with Karan Sharma and Jesse Ryder.

The match is touted to be a battle of 'equals' brewing and it's about two teams which finished at the bottom of the Indian Premier League's table last season.

Hyderabad have already defeated Kolkata Knight Riders convincingly while the Royal Challengers got the better of defending champions Rajasthan Royals.

Gilchrist's team took part in a hectic training session at Newlands on Tuesday. In the three-and-half hours they spent at the nets, the idea was to just try and hit big so as to get into the rhythm for the upcoming match.

Pietersen wasn't there in the first edition of the IPL. But he does remember the innings Gilchrist played against Mumbai Indians, a century in the only match Hyderabad won and he knows that if Gilchrist can play like that, he can be dangerous.

Royal Challengers may have lost a match but that doesn't take away anything from the fact that they've begun positively. Given that the same goes for Hyderabad, there's a lot to look forward to.


Deccan Chargers: Adam Gilchrist (Capt.), Herschelle Gibbs, Scott Styris, VVS Laxman, Rohit Sharma, Venugopal Rao, Harmeet Singh, Pragyan Ojha, RP Singh, Ravi Teja, Fidel Edwards.

Bangalore Royal Challengers: Kevin Pietersen (Capt.), Jesse Ryder, Robin Uthappa, Jacques Kallis, Rahul Dravid, Virat Kohli, Karan Sharma, Praveen Kumar, Anil Kumble, Dale Steyn, Rajesh Bishnoi.