Raina stars as Super Kings beat Royals
Source - indiatimes.com
Suresh Raina struck a dazzling 55-ball 98 to fashion Chennai Super Kings' impressive 38-run win over defending IPL champions the Rajasthan Royals at Centurion.
Suresh Raina was adjudged the Man of the Match for his marvellous knock of 98.

Lakshmipathy Balaji took 4/21 as chasing a victory target of 165 runs, Rajasthan were 126 all out. Last man Kamran Khan did not bat because he had injured his ankle while bowling.

Balaji took his first wicket when he had the dangerous Yusuf Pathan caught at long-off by Raina.

Ravindra Jadeja top scored for Rajasthan with a 33-ball 37 before he was caught by Matthew Hayden off Balaji.

Earlier, Chennai Super Kings scored 164/5 in 20 overs riding on a marvellous 98 by Raina.

Raina's excellent knock came off 55 deliveries and was studded with 5 sixes and 10 fours. Raina reached 98 with a hit through the covers and raised the bat to acknowledge his century because the big screen showed him on 100.

Next ball, Raina cut over deep point where Graeme Smith ran back to take the catch. Raina returned to the pavillion with a raised bat but he was actually two short of a century.

Chennai captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni remained unbeaten on 22 that came off 19 deliveries.

Raina added 71 runs with Dhoni for the fifth wicket and 67 runs with Subramaniam Badrinath (29) for the third wicket.

Chennai Super Kings were 81/2 in 10 overs.

Yusuf Pathan started the second over by striking on his first delivery shattering the stumps of Matthew Hayden (1), who was looking to make room to hit through the off-side.

In his next over Pathan had Parthiv Patel (3) caught by Kamran Khan at short third man to reduce Chennai to 17/2.

Raina has reached his 4th IPL fifty off 26 balls with the help of 3 sixes and 5 fours.

The match started with Rajasthan Royals captain Shane Warne winning the toss and choosing to bowl.

Rajasthan have dropped Paul Valthaty for fast bowler Siddharth Trivedi. Chennai have dropped Manpreet Gony and Joginder Sharma for IPL debutants Sudeep Tyagi and Shadab Jakati.