Kolkata on top after semi final dream ends
Aaron Moores | cricket20
The Kolkata Knight Riders put the disappointment of missing out on a place in the IPL semi finals with a commanding performance against the Mumbai Indians who were restricted to a total of just 133-8.
With the Knight Riders needing to beat the Indians by 175 runs to stand any chance of reaching the knock out stages of the IPL their faint hopes were ended when stand in skipper Dwayne Bravo won the toss and decided to bat.

With the game now meaningless the Knight Riders got of to the better start with Kiwi fast bowler Shane Bond taking to early wickets to restrict the Indians openers.

Aditya Tare (1) was the first of Bonds victims after he was caught by Murali Kartik who came running in from cover to take the catch.

Shikhar Dhawa soon followed in Bonds next over after he was caught by wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha to leave the Indians 14-2 after just three overs.

The Indians, wholl play the Royal Challengers Bangalore in the first semi final on Wednesday, mounted a fight back thanks to an excellent partnership of 63 between Saurabh Tiwary and JP Duminy.

The partnership took the pressure of the Indians but Tiwary (46) and Duminy (19) were dismissed in the space of 3 balls to leave the 77-4.

Bravo (5) soon followed after an innings of just 9 balls after he was stumped by Saha to give Kartik his second wicket of the innings.

Rajagopal Sathish and Ambati Rayudu enyjoed a rapid partner of 22 from just 12 balls before Manoj Tiwary struck to claim his first IPL wicket dismissing Sathish (11) who was caught by Kartik out in the boundary.

Stuart Binny and Ambati Rayudu tried to see out saw out the final two overs but Binny (8) was caught by Sourav Ganguly as Ashok Dinda claimed his first wicket of the night.

After opening the batting for the Indians at the weekend Ryan McLaren came out to face the final 5 balls to help the Indians set the Knight Riders as target of 134. With batting hard on a sluggish pitch the game is far from over with the home side set for a tricky run chase.
t20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the ECB).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB