Royal Challengers take complete control
Simon Presland | cricket20
The Royal Challengers Bangalore blew the Deccan Chargers away to take control of the Champions League play off match after bowling out for the Chargers for just 82 runs.
Having won the toss the Chargers got of to the worst start possible losing three early wickets inside the first four overs as the Royal Challengers took an early strangle hold on the game.

Adam Gilchrist ‘s disappointing tournament with the bat continued, having only scored 285 runs in 15 games the Chargers skipper lasted only 4 balls before he was caught by Jacques Kallis out on the boundary giving Anil Kumble the early breakthrough.

Amazingly Monish Mishra (0) departed three balls later after he was trapped LBW by Praveen Kumar to put the Royal Challengers firmly on top

With a partnership urgently needed to rescue the Chargers Rohit Sharma (0) responded by throwing away his wicket picking out Kevin Pietersen at mid off with a poorly timed shit which Pietersen took with ease to leave the Chargers 15-3.

With the Chargers on the ropes having only scored 27 runs in the power play overs the Royal Challengers continued their attack and they were rewarded with the big wicket on Andrew Symonds at the start of Dale Steyn’s second over.

The South African fast bowler bowled a perfect short ball which Symonds (2) attempted to cut but could only get a thick edge through to wicket keeper Robin Uthappa as the Chargers stumbled to 27-4.

Unbelievably the wickets continued to tumble as the Chargers batsman were unable to halt the collapse. Dwayne Smith (5) lasted only 10 balls before he was unable to read a googly from Kumble which crashed into the West Indians stumps to leave the Chargers 35-5.

With 10 overs gone the Chargers had set a new IPL low scoring only 43 runs.

Anirudh Singh and Venugopal Rao offered some much need resistant’s for the Chargers building an important partnership of 43 runs before Singh (40) was bowled by Kallis at the start of the 15th over.

Venugopal Rao (24) soon followed in the next over as the Chargers innings ended in the same way it started as Rahul Sharma (0), Ryan Harris (3) and Pragyan Ojha (0) all departed as the Chargers crashed to a score of 82 all out.
t20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB