Chargers falter, Royals hold the advantage
Deepankar Kaur | cricket20
The Rajasthan Royals will face a run chase of 138 after restricting the Deccan Chargers to a modest total of just 137-8 after a disappointing performance with the bat.
Siddharth Trivedi led the way picking up 3 middle order wickets to restrict the home side who were indebted to late order runs from Dwaraka Ravi Teja (28) and Daniel Christian (26).

Having been put into bat the Chargers got off to a great start thanks to openers Shikhar Dhawan and Ishank Jaggi who enjoyed a rapid opening stand of 41 which came from just 29 deliveries.

Dhawan lead the way with smashing Amit Singh for a massive six and a boundary from consecutive deliveries in the 5th before the bowler cleverly struck back with a slower delivery which the 25 year old dragged to Abhishek Raut at deep midwicket.

The Chargers positive start was quickly derailed by some excellent bowling from Trivedi who picked up the wickets of Kumar Sangakkara (0) and Bharat Chipli (6) in the space of 15 deliveries to leave the home side 53-3.

With the top order removed the Royals increased the pressure thanks to inspirational skipper Shane Warne who showed no signs of aging thanks to another superb spell of bowling.

The veteran spinner used all of his international experience to pick up the wickets of Jaggi (25) and JP Duminy (25) to leave the Chargers 77-5 with only 6 overs remaining.

Opening batsman Jaggi was the first to go when he picked out Johan Botha on the long on boundary in the 11th over before Duminy, frustrated by the lack of runs picked out Botha after he attempted to smash Warne out of the ground.

With the middle order in free fall Christian and Ravi Teja kept the Royals at bay with a vital 6th wicket partnership of 37 before Christian (25) was caught by Raut out on the deep midwicket boundary to give the impressive Trivedi his third wicket of the day.

Ravi Teja (28) and Dale Steyn (7) quickly follow as the Chargers limped to a total of just 137-8 thanks in no small part to the contribution of Ravi Teja and Christian.
t20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the ECB).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB