Rampant McCullum sets up Tuskers victory
Deepankar Kaur | cricket20
Brendon McCullum smashed a quick fire 37 to help the Kochi Tuskers Kerala cruise to a 7 wicket victory over the Delhi DareDevils at the Feroz Shah Kotla.
Faced with a run chase of 141 McCullum got the Tuskers run chase got off to a fantastic start thanks scoring 37 runs from just 19 balls to put the DareDevils on the back foot.

The Kiwi smashed 5 fours and 2 sixes during a devastating display of big hitting which saw him dispatch Umesh Yadav for 20 runs in the space of just 4 deliveries in the 4th over.

Although McCullum’s blitz was ended by Morne Morkel in the 6th over he left the Tuskers well positioned needing just over a run a ball to seal victory.

Despite the loss of Michael Klinger (18) and Mahela Jayawardene (8) the visitors coasted to victory with 30 balls remaining thanks to Parthiv Patel (37) and Brad Hodge (24).

Venugopal Rao led the DareDevils charge once again with a vital 40 after the top order failed to fire, the 29 years old shared partnerships with Yogesh Nagar (18) and Travis Brit to help the home side reach 140-6.

With the home side struggerling to scores runs, Brit contributed a vital 27 after Venugopal Rao was dismissed by Prasanth Parameswaran (26-2) in the 18th over.

The game got off to a dramatic thanks to Parameswaran who picked up the star wicket of Virender Sehwag with just his 3rd delivery in this years tournament.

Having watched Sehwag (15) dispatch his first ever IPL delivery for a six Parameswaran struck back in perfect fashion, forcing the DareDevils skipper to edge a short delivery through to wicket keeper Parthiv Patel for the perfect comeback.

Despite the loss of Sehwag the DareDevils remained positive thanks to Naman Ojha who dispatched Parameswaran for a six and a boundary in the 5th over to put the home side marginally on top.

That advantage didn’t last long though, as the Tuskers struck back to dismiss David Warner and Ojha within the space of 4 deliveries to leave the home side 34-3 after 6.2 overs.

Warner (13) was the first to go after he tried to pull a short delivery from Sreesanth which looped up in the air to Vinay Kumar, who took an easy catch at mid on.

Ojha (13) quickly followed 4 deliveries later after he edged a full delivery from RP Singh through to Patel behind the stumps to keep the match evenly poised.
t20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB