Pollard and Harbhajan lead Indians fight back
Harjit Mehat | cricket20
Kieron Pollard and Harbhajan Singh recorded a vital 7th wicket partnership of 37 to help the Mumbai Indians keep a battling Pune Warriors at bay.
Pollard (30) and Harbhajan (8)came together in the 17th over and proceeded to blast 2 fours and 2 sixes to help the Indians reach 161-7 after they had been reduced to 124-6.

The turning point in the innings was the penultimate over which saw Alfonso Thomas concede 28 runs during an explosive 9 ball over.

Thomas conceded two wides, two fours and two sixes as the Indians looked to steel the momentum going into the Warriors run chase.

With the Indians kept in check, Tirumalasetti Suman ended the innings as the visitors top scorer with a quick fire 36 which came from just 16 deliveries including 3 four and 3 sixes.

Having been put into bat the Indians latest opening partnership lasted just 2.3 overs before Blizzard (6) was dismissed by Alfonso Thomas having been handed an IPL debut in place of the injured Davy Jacobs.

Despite the early loss of Blizzard the Indians got off to a good start thanks to a 2nd wicket stand of 40 between Sachin Tendulkar and Ambati Rayudu.

Tenhdulkar (24), the leading run score in this years tournament led the way before he was dismissed by Yuvraj Singh in the 9th over when the Indians skipper picked out Jessie Ryder who took an excellent diving catch at short extra cover.

Yuvraj struck again two overs later to dismiss Rayudu (27) before Suman came to the crease and kick started the Indians stuttering innings by dispatching Ryder and Jerome Taylor for two big sixes.

Despite the loss of Rohit Sharma (12) in the 14th over the Indians continued to pressure the Warriors with Suman enjoying a memorable cameo before his innings was ended by Sharma.

Andrew Symonds (3) quickly followed before Pollard and Harbhajan relieved the pressure with a devastating 7th wicket partnership to put the visitors in control of the game.
t20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the ECB).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB