Ganguly leads Warriors to simple victory
Deepankar Kaur | cricket20
The Pune Warriors cruised to a comprehensive 6 wicket victory over the Deccan Chargers to record back to back victories after successfully chasing down a victory target of 137.
Deccan Chargers failed to build on a positive start by Shikhar Dhawan and Dwaraka Ravi Teja to leave the Pune Warriors facing a run chase of 136-8 to record back to back victories

Faced with a run chase of only 137 the Warriors got off to a great start thanks to Jessie Ryder and Manish Pandey who shared an opening stand of 55.

Despite losing Ryder (35) in the 7th over the Warriors didn’t collapse in a similar fashion to the Chargers who also lost their first wicket after the end of the power play overs.

With Ryder back in the dug out Sourav Ganguly came to the crease for the first time in this year’s tournament after signing for the Warriors last week as a replacement player for the injured Ashish Nehra.

While Ganguly took his time to settle at the crease, Pandey wasted little increasing the Warriots hold on the game smashing 4 boundaries and 2 sixes during a 2nd wicket stand of 38.

Despite losing Pandey (49) and Robin Uthappa (1) in quick succession Ganguly (32) guided the Warriors towards victory before Yuvraj Singh (2) was bowled by Daniel Christian in the 17th over.

With the skipper back in the dug out, Callum Ferguson (15) added three consecutive boundaries off the bowling of Christian before the young Aussie sealed victory in the penultimate over.

Dhawan and Ravi Teja got the Chargers off to the perfect start thanks to an opening stand of 51 after Kumar Sangakkara won the toss and elected to bat first at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad.

The pair batted with ease during the power play overs and took advantage of the fielding restrictions to score 50 runs from the first 6 overs to give the home side the early momentum.

Having made a good start neither batsman were able to push on though as the Warriors fought their way back into the game removing Dhawan and Ravi Teja in the space of 6 deliveries.

Dhawan (24) was the first to go when he spooned an easy catch to Jessie Tyder at extra cover to give Yuvraj Singh the break through in the 7th over.

Ravi Teja quickly followed when he was bowled by young Australian Mitchell Marsh to leave the Chargers 56-2 after 7.3 overs.

With two new batsman at the crease the Warriors took control of the game and it wasn’t long until they made another break through thanks to Rahul Sharma who trapped Sangakkara (12) LBW at the end of the 11th over.

Daniel Christian (10) quickly followed before JP Duminy and Bharat Chipli shared a 5th wicket stand which contributed 21 before the Chargers middle order suffered a dramatic collapse.

The home side lost 3 wickets in the space of 5 deliveries as the impressive Marsh (25-4) struck to remove Duminy (30), Sunny Sohal (0) and Amit Mishra (0) to leave the Chargers 124-7.

Dale Steyn (11) and Bharat Chipli (17) added 10 runs during the final over to help the Chargers reach 136-8, but having got off to such a good start Sangakkara will be disappointed with how his side batted during the second half of the innings.
t20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB