Tendulkar wins the toss and elects to bowl
Deepankar Kaur | cricket20
Mumbai Indians skipper Sachin Tendulkar has won the toss and elected to bowl first against the Kolkata Knight Riders in the 3rd and 4th place elimination final at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.
The teams face each other less then four days since the Indians stunned the Knight Riders with one of the biggest comebacks in IPL history thanks to James Franklin who smashed 45 runs from just 23 balls to set up an unlikely victory.

Ambati Rayaudu may have hit the winning runs but it was Franklin’s four consecutive boundaries at the start of the final over, bowled by Lakshmipathy Balaji which denied the Knight Riders a place in last nights opening place off match.

Having missed out, the Knight Riders will need to bounce straight back tonight else their promising tournament will end in failure in the 3rd and 4th place eliminator.

Defeat for either team will end their tournament while the winner will earn a place in Friday’s final eliminator against the Royal Challengers Bangalore to earn the right to face the Chennai Super Kings in Saturdays final.

The winner of tonight’s game will also secure a place in the t20 Champions League.

The Knight Riders remain unchanged while the Indians bring back Aiden Blizzard, Dhawal Kulkarni and Munaf Patel for the vital clash.

Mumbai Indians team - AC Blizzard, SR Tendulkar*, AT Rayudu†, RG Sharma, KA Pollard, JEC Franklin, TL Suman, Harbhajan Singh, DS Kulkarni, MM Patel, SL Malinga.

Kolkata Knight Riders team - JH Kallis, SP Goswami†, G Gambhir*, MK Tiwary, YK Pathan, RN ten Doeschate, R Bhatia, Shakib Al Hasan, B Lee, L Balaji, Iqbal Abdulla.
t20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB