Impressive Vijay gives the Super Kings the edge
Harjit Mehat | cricket20
The Chennai Super Kings hopes of winning back to back Indian Premier League titles were boosted by Murali Vijay who scored 95 runs to help the defending champions reach 205-5.
Vijay was at his very best to light up the MA Chidambaram Stadium with a scintillating innings which put the Super Kings on top against the Royal Challengers Bangalore.

The 27 year smashed four fours and six sixes before he was dismissed by Sreenath Aravind in the penultimate over after he had made light work of the Royal Challengers bowling attack.

MS Dhoni enjoyed a brief cameo of 22 before Suresh Raina (8) and Albie Morkel (2) quickly followed as the Royal Challengers fought their way back into the game during the final two overs of the match.

The Super Kings got off to a fantastic start thanks to Hussey and Vijay who shared an opening stand of 159 after MS Dhoni had won the toss and elected to bat first against the Royal Challengers.

Vijay led the way, taking just 29 deliveries to complete a well deserved half century which included 2 boundaries and three sixes to help the Super Kings take control of the final.

Despite playing the supporting role, Hussey (63) completed his own milestone in the 14th over when he reverse swept Daniel Vettori for a boundary through third man before he was dismissed by Syed Mohammad with 5 overs to go.

The pair started off slowly and paced the innings early on by playing the ball into the gaps and taking easy singles to keep the pressure on the Royal Challengers during the power play overs, scoring 56 runs in the process.

With the opening 6 overs easily negotiated the pair increased the tempo to reach 100 from just 63 deliveries as the Royal Challengers bowling attack wilted inside the MA Chidambaram Stadium.

The pair scored their next 50 runs from just 23 deliveries as they increased the run rate dispatching three boundaries and four sixes before the partnership was finally ended by the Royal Challengers in the 15th over.
t20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the ECB).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB