Impressive Knight Riders cruise into IPL final
Deepankar Kaur | cricket20
The Kolkata Knight Riders booked their place in the Indian Premier League final on Sunday thanks to a 18 run victory over the Delhi DareDevils at the Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium in Pune.
Yusuf Pathan masterminded the victory with a quick fire 40 off just 20 deliveries which included three fours and two sixes during the closing stages of the innings to help the Knight Riders record a total of 162-4.

Faced with a tough run chase, the DareDevils were restricted to a total of just 144-8 despite an excellent innings from Mahela Jayawardene (40) who played an anchor role after the loss of Virender Sehwag (10).

Naman Ojha (29) offered Jayawardene some support during a 3rd wicket stand of 59 but the DareDevils batting line up failed to fully fire as the Knight Riders held on to secure victory.

Despite the defeat, the DareDevils with have another chance to reach the final on Friday night when they take on the winner of the eliminator match between the Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings.

It proved to be the perfect day for the Knight Riders, once Gautam Gambhir (32) won the toss and elected to bat first as his side took control of the match early on.

Gambhir, Brendon McCullum (31) and Jacques Kallis (30) all played important roles at the top of the innings before Pathan sealed it with a bang to leave the DareDevils facing a victory target of 163.
t20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the ECB).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB