2008 Indian Premier League

The inaugural IPL season was launched during a lavish opening ceremony with much fanfare and fireworks at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore as the Royal Challengers Bangalore faced the Kolkata Knight Riders. Brendan McCullum added even more fireworks during the game hitting a world record 158 off just 73 balls to lead the Knight Riders to a 140 run victory.

Over the next 5 weeks India was gripped with IPL fever. As star packed teams fell by the wayside the final was contested between the the Rajasthan Royals and the Chennai Super Kings.

Sohail Tanvir was the hero for the Royals scoring the winning run off the last ball of the game to beat the Super Kings by 3 wickets in a tense and thrilling final to win the inaugural IPL title.

Fixtures | Standings

Rampaging Sixers maul weak Lions to seal title
Sixers see off the Titans to seal thriller
Lions shock the DareDevils to reach t20 final
DareDevils top group after another washout
Sixers cruise to victory over the winless Indians
DareDevils strengthen semi final hopes after win
Semis bound Lions knock out defending champs
Teams left frustrated after 3rd straight wash out
Impressive Sixers advance to the semi finals
Cricket tickets
England vs India tickets
England vs Sri Lanka tickets
Twenty20 finals day tickets
Buy or sell tickets on Seatwave
Europe's No1 Ticket Exchange
T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB