2009 Indian Premier League

After the terrorist attacks in Mumbai during the previous winter the decision was made to move the 2009 IPL season away from India. After much thought and discussion within the IPL governing council the decision was made to move the event to South Africa.

The move was successful with sell out games across the country.

After a disastrous inaugural seasons the Deccan Chargers and Bangalore Royal Challengers were expected to struggle in 2009 but against mounting odds both teams reached the final.

The Chargers completed a fairy tale season by winning the final by 6 runs to claim the 2009 IPL title.

Fixtures | Standings

Rampaging Sixers maul weak Lions to seal title
Sixers see off the Titans to seal thriller
Lions shock the DareDevils to reach t20 final
DareDevils top group after another washout
Sixers cruise to victory over the winless Indians
DareDevils strengthen semi final hopes after win
Semis bound Lions knock out defending champs
Teams left frustrated after 3rd straight wash out
Impressive Sixers advance to the semi finals
Cricket tickets
England vs India tickets
England vs Sri Lanka tickets
Twenty20 finals day tickets
Buy or sell tickets on Seatwave
Europe's No1 Ticket Exchange
T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB