Indian Premier League
Series Home|Latest News|Fixtures|Standings|Squads|Team Rankings|Tournament Stats|2010|2009|2008
Chennai Super Kings
Team HomeSquadFixturesStatisticsHistory
The Chennai Super Kings are the most consistent team in the IPL having reached the knock out stages at the last two tournaments and start this year’s event as one of the favourites to reach the finals.

The Super Kings are one of the IPL’s highest profile teams; lead by Indian cricketing superstar Mahendra Singh Dhoni the pressure will be on the franchise to win this years crown after the losing last years semi final to the Royal Challengers Bangalore.

The Super Kings have a high profile squad which includes Muttiah Muralitharan, Michael Hussey, Suresh Raina and the 2009 Orange Cap winner Mathew Hayden who finished last years event with an average of 52.

The Super Kings have built their team around a strong top order which features Hayden, Parthiv Patel, Dhoni, Raina and Hussey. With an explosive batting line up the Super Kings are one of the most feared teams in the IPL.

In comparison their bowlers have been inconsistent during the first two tournaments even though Muralitharan and Albie Morkel both took 14 wickets during last years IPL in South Africa.

Supported by Laxmipathy Balaji, Manpreet Singh Gony and Thilan Thushara the Super Kings bowling attack lacks an explosive punch and they will miss all rounder Andrew Flintoff who is ruled out of the tournament with an ongoing knee injury.

The Super Kings replaced Flintoff with South African Justin Kemp during January’s player auction but missed out on Shane Bond who joined the Kolkata Knight Riders.

Muralitharan and Morkel will be the main bowlers for Dhoni and will once again shoulder most of the workload if the Super Kings are to be successful
Latest Headlines
Fearless Bisla leads Knight Riders to IPL title
Defending Champions bat first in the IPL final
Rampaging Super Kings cruise into IPL Final
Sehwag wins the toss, DareDevils bowl first
Dhoni leads Super Kings to eliminator victory
Indians bowl first in eliminator showdown
Impressive Knight Riders cruise into IPL final
Gambhir wins the toss, Knight Riders bat first
Cricket tickets
England vs India tickets
England vs Sri Lanka tickets
Twenty20 finals day tickets
Buy or sell tickets on Seatwave
Europe's No1 Ticket Exchange
T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB