Indian Premier League
Series Home|Latest News|Fixtures|Standings|Squads|Team Rankings|Tournament Stats|2010|2009|2008
Kings XI Punjab
Team HomeSquadFixturesStatisticsHistory
The Kings XI Punjab will be looking to bounce back after a disappointing time in South Africa where they missed out on a place in the semi finals because of a poorer run rate then that of the eventual champions the Deccan Chargers.

After causing a major surprise in the inaugural IPL by reaching the semi finals last years failure to qualify for the knock out stages was considered a major setback and caused Yuvraj Singh to lose the captaincy.

The Kings XI go into this months tournament full of confidence with a well balanced squad under the steady leadership of coach Tom Moody.

They will be lead by Sri Lankan skipper Kumar Sangakkara who will look to turn around the Kings XI after least season disappointing 5th place finish.

The Kings XIís main strength is their wealth of world class batsman who will be able to support Sangakkara at the top of the order. As well as Yuvraj the Kings XI squad includes Ravi Bopara, Simon Katich, and Mahela Jayawardene.

With Sangakkara and Yuvraj opening the batting the Kings XI will be a dangerous side to face but they will need to improve their bowling attack if they are to stay in the running for a place in the semi finals.

During the previous two IPL tournaments the Kings XI bowlers have failed to live up to expatiations and were one of the main reasons why the team did so poorly in South Africa.

With a fully fit Bret Lee in their squad and expected to play 90% of the group games the Kings XI will have a dangerous opening bowler but his support cast including Sreesanth, Irfan Pathan and Piyush Chawla will all have to improve after miss firing during the last two years.

If Tom Moody can get the best out of his squad the Kings XI will once again challenge for a place in the knock out stages of the Indian Premier League but they will struggle against the better teams.
Latest Headlines
Fearless Bisla leads Knight Riders to IPL title
Defending Champions bat first in the IPL final
Rampaging Super Kings cruise into IPL Final
Sehwag wins the toss, DareDevils bowl first
Dhoni leads Super Kings to eliminator victory
Indians bowl first in eliminator showdown
Impressive Knight Riders cruise into IPL final
Gambhir wins the toss, Knight Riders bat first
Cricket tickets
England vs India tickets
England vs Sri Lanka tickets
Twenty20 finals day tickets
Buy or sell tickets on Seatwave
Europe's No1 Ticket Exchange
T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB