Indian Premier League
Series Home|Latest News|Fixtures|Standings|Squads|Team Rankings|Tournament Stats|2010|2009|2008
Rajasthan Royals
Team HomeSquadFixturesStatisticsHistory
The Rajasthan Royals went into last seasons IPL in South Africa as the inaugural winners but the defence of their crown didnít go to plan as they ended the group stages in 6th place missing out on the semi finals by just one point.

The Royals four wicket defeat against the lowly Kolkata Knight Riders in their last group game summed up a campaign of missed opportunities when victory would have secured a place in the semi finals.

The Royals go into this years IPL confident that they can once again challenge for the IPL title and with skipper Shane Warne leading the team back in India the Royals will once again be a tough team to beat.

The Royals will welcome back Graeme Smith and Shane Watson who both missed large parts of last years tournament in South Africa because of injuries and with the addition of Englishmen Michael Lumb the batting will be stronger.

With Yusuf Pathan in the middle order Warne has an explosive batsman whoís got the ability and power to change the course of the game like he displayed during the first IPL.

The Royals may have a weak top order which sometimes rely to heavily on the runs scored by Smith but itís their bowling attack which really shines.

With Warne, Shaun Tait and Morne Morkel the Royals have a dangerous bowling attack which will be feared by the other teams especially it Tait can constantly bowl over 150 kph like he did during the summer in Australia.

Warne will also be able to utilize the medium pace bowing of Twenty20 specialist Dimitri Mascarenhas who given the task of opening the attack last year in South Africa.

Back in India the Royals will be one of the favourites to claim the IPL title and although they stand every chance of reaching the semi finals their weak batting order will be their eventual downfall.
Latest Headlines
Fearless Bisla leads Knight Riders to IPL title
Defending Champions bat first in the IPL final
Rampaging Super Kings cruise into IPL Final
Sehwag wins the toss, DareDevils bowl first
Dhoni leads Super Kings to eliminator victory
Indians bowl first in eliminator showdown
Impressive Knight Riders cruise into IPL final
Gambhir wins the toss, Knight Riders bat first
Cricket tickets
England vs India tickets
England vs Sri Lanka tickets
Twenty20 finals day tickets
Buy or sell tickets on Seatwave
Europe's No1 Ticket Exchange
T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB