Indian Premier League
Series Home|Latest News|Fixtures|Standings|Squads|Team Rankings|Tournament Stats|2010|2009|2008
Royal Challengers Bangalore
Team HomeSquadFixturesStatisticsHistory
The Royal Challengers Bangalore go into this months IPL with their strongest team to date looking to bounce back after their finals defeat against the Deccan Chargers in South Africa last year.

With new signing Eion Morgan available for the whole tournament the Royal Challengers will once again challenge for a place in the knock out stages of this years IPL.

After a disastrous debut in the inaugural 2008 tournament the Royal Challengers got it right in South Africa least year. Under the leadership of Anil Kumble the Royal Challengers were one of the surprise teams winning 8 games to qualify for the knock out stages.

Although they went on to lose the final against the Chargers 2009 was seen as a great success despite the unhappy ending.

With last years heart arch fresh in their minds the Royal Challengers looked to strengthen their team in January’s player auction. The signing of up and coming England star Eion Morgan for just $220,000 was regarded as the best deal at the auction.

They also signed Australian all rounder Steve Smith who is being touted as the next Shane Warne. The pair will join up with their new teammates in the build up to the start of the IPL.

The Royal Challengers boast a squad full of cricketing superstars, their batting line up includes Jacques Kallis, Rahul Dravid, Cameron White and Kevin Pietersen. With the addition of Morgan it will be one most feared top orders in the IPL.

The depth of their bowling attack is also impressive with skipper Kumble able to call on the talents of Smith, Roelof van der Merwe, Dale Steyn, Praveen Kumar and Vinay Kumar along with a host of Indian youngsters.

World Number 1 bowler Steyn and Indian international Kumar will spearhead the pace attack while spinners Kumble, Smith and van der Merwe able to slow down the run rate during the middle overs.

Kumble was the main threat for the Royal Challengers last year in South Africa picking up 21 wickets and with the IPL returning to the spinner friendly wickets of India he will be an even bigger threat this year.
Latest Headlines
Fearless Bisla leads Knight Riders to IPL title
Defending Champions bat first in the IPL final
Rampaging Super Kings cruise into IPL Final
Sehwag wins the toss, DareDevils bowl first
Dhoni leads Super Kings to eliminator victory
Indians bowl first in eliminator showdown
Impressive Knight Riders cruise into IPL final
Gambhir wins the toss, Knight Riders bat first
Cricket tickets
England vs India tickets
England vs Sri Lanka tickets
Twenty20 finals day tickets
Buy or sell tickets on Seatwave
Europe's No1 Ticket Exchange
T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB