Maharashtra wilt under pressure

Source -

With victory well in sight after staging a superb recovery, Maharashtra lost their way at the crucial stage, suffering a five-run defeat at the hands of Gujarat in the Twenty20 West Zone Cricket Tournament in Mumbai on Tuesday.

In pursuit of Gujarat`s demanding total of 196 for 3, Maharashtra needed nine off the final over bowled by Niraj Patel. But they wilted under pressure, losing two wickets, and ended with 191 for 7.

Recovering from a precarious position of 38 for 4, Maharashtra came back strongly through brilliant half-centuries from Yogesh Takawale (89) and captain Sairaj Bahutule (64), who added 149 runs for the fifth wicket.

However, when the duo had completely shifted the momentum and were on the path to victory, the balance again slightly shifted in the penultimate over, which saw just three runs being scored and the vital wicket of Bahutule falling.

Earlier in the day, Gujarat batting first after winning the toss and produced solid results after the openers set up things superbly with a 86-run stand.

Subsequently fine unbeaten knocks from Niraj Patel (45) and Vishwajeet Solanki (50) propelled them to the impressive score.

The proceedings witnessed in the second match was a stark contrast to the opener in which hosts Mumbai gained a resounding eight-wicket victory over Baroda.

In their second match, Gujarat will meet Mumbai tomorrow at the Brabourne stadium while Saurashtra commence their campaign against Maharashtra in the morning session.

Big hitting England canter to empathic victory
West Indies end Aussie tour with t20 victory
Kiwis bounce back in style to seal 55 run win
Big hitting England romp to 40 run victory
Sri Lanka end tour with t20 series victory
Mathews guides Sri Lanka to five wicket victory
Yuvraj Singh sees off Pakistan to level series
Proteas cruise to series victory over the Kiwis
Early wobble not enough to derail Pakistan
Cricket tickets
England vs India tickets
England vs Sri Lanka tickets
Twenty20 finals day tickets
Buy or sell tickets on Seatwave
Europe's No1 Ticket Exchange
T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB