Tamil Nadu win first Twenty20 Cup

Source -

Tamil Nadu became the first Twenty20 national cricket champions Saturday when they beat Punjab by one wicket in the final.

Batting first, Punjab made 134 for eight wickets in 20 overs, with Karan Goel top scoring with 26 and Ravneet Ricky chipping in with 24. C. Ganapathy and R. Prasanna took two wickets apiece.

In reply, Tamil Nadu overhauled the Punjab total with two balls to spare in an exciting finish under floodlights at the Brabourne Stadium. They made 135 for nine wickets, with Vidyut Sivaramakrishnan scoring 27 off 28 balls and D. Devendran 24.

Goel was the best bowler for Punjab as he took four wickets for 13. Vikram Raj Vir Singh bagged two for 32.

Ten runs were required off the last over and Yo Mahesh, who remained unbeaten on nine, duly hit the winning runs.

Big hitting England canter to empathic victory
West Indies end Aussie tour with t20 victory
Kiwis bounce back in style to seal 55 run win
Big hitting England romp to 40 run victory
Sri Lanka end tour with t20 series victory
Mathews guides Sri Lanka to five wicket victory
Yuvraj Singh sees off Pakistan to level series
Proteas cruise to series victory over the Kiwis
Early wobble not enough to derail Pakistan
Cricket tickets
England vs India tickets
England vs Sri Lanka tickets
Twenty20 finals day tickets
Buy or sell tickets on Seatwave
Europe's No1 Ticket Exchange
T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB