Collingwood named Twenty20 captain

Source -

The England selectors today appointed Paul Collingwood as England’s One-Day International captain.

The Durham all-rounder will lead his country for the first time in the forthcoming NatWest International Twenty20 matches and The NatWest Series against the West Indies.

Collingwood will captain a squad which contains two uncapped players, Warwickshire batsman Jonathan Trott and Hampshire all-rounder Dimitri Mascarenhas.

Chairman of Selectors, David Graveney, said: “The selectors believe that Paul Collingwood’s experience and performances in the one-day game make him the ideal candidate to lead the side. He has been a key member of the one-day team for a while and we believe he is ready to take on the additional responsibility of captaincy.

“Overall, we were keen to identify the best way for the team to play in the one day game, pick players who can perform certain roles and keep one eye on the need to build towards the World Cup in 2011.

“We have decided to give opportunities to players who have not been tried previously such as Jonathan Trott and Dimitri Mascarenhas as well as a fresh chance to others who have limited experience of one-day international cricket such as Alastair Cook, Matt Prior, Owais Shah, Ryan Sidebottom and Mike Yardy.

“Jonathan will give us options in the top three of the order and he has been in prolific form for Warwickshire in the Friends Provident Trophy this season. Similarly, Dimitri Mascarenhas enjoys an excellent record in the shorter form of the game, has shown that he can take wickets on different types of surfaces and is also an effective hitter in the lower order.

“In addition to Andrew Flintoff, Sajid Mahmood and Marcus Trescothick, Ravi Bopara was also unavailable for selection as he is not expected to recover from a thigh injury until near the end of The NatWest Series.

“Andrew Strauss will be disappointed not to have been selected but we remain confident that he can recapture his best form in the one-day game and come back as a stronger player.

“We are also pleased to announce today that in addition to being named in the One-Day squad, Ryan Sidebottom, Jonathan Trott and Dimitri Mascarenhas are being added to the England Performance Squad which was announced earlier in the year. There are now 28 players in total in the EPS.”

Player County
Paul Collingwood Durham
James Anderson Lancashire
Ian Bell Warwickshire
Stuart Broad Leicestershire
Alastair Cook Essex
Dimitri Mascarenha Hampshire
Monty Panesar Northamptonshire
Kevin Pietersen Hampshire
Liam Plunkett Durham
Matt Prior Sussex
Owais Shah Middlesex
Ryan Sidebottom Nottinghamshire
Jonathan Trott Warwickshire
Michael Yardy Sussex

Big hitting England canter to empathic victory
West Indies end Aussie tour with t20 victory
Kiwis bounce back in style to seal 55 run win
Big hitting England romp to 40 run victory
Sri Lanka end tour with t20 series victory
Mathews guides Sri Lanka to five wicket victory
Yuvraj Singh sees off Pakistan to level series
Proteas cruise to series victory over the Kiwis
Early wobble not enough to derail Pakistan
Cricket tickets
England vs India tickets
England vs Sri Lanka tickets
Twenty20 finals day tickets
Buy or sell tickets on Seatwave
Europe's No1 Ticket Exchange
T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB