Proteas send West Indies in to bat

Source -

South Africa won the toss and sent the West Indies in to bat in a Twenty20 international at the Wanderers Stadium on Friday.

Rain during the afternoon made it seem unlikely that play would start on time but there was a break in the weather at the time of the toss and it was hoped there would be a prompt start, although it was expected the outfield would be damp.

It is the second 20-overs international of the tour. The West Indies won by five wickets in a game reduced to 13 overs a side in Port Elizabeth before the Test series, which South Africa won by two matches to one.

Chris Gayle, the tour captain, had still not recovered from a broken thumb and the side was captained by Dwayne Bravo, who led the side in the third and final Test in Durban.

Fast bowler Morne Morkel returned to the South African team after being out of international action since September with a stress fracture of the foot.

South Africa: Graeme Smith (captain), Herschelle Gibbs, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Albie Morkel, Shaun Pollock, Justin Ontong, Mark Boucher, Johan Botha, Morne Morkel, Makhaya Ntini.

West Indies: Dwayne Bravo (captain), Devon Smith, Denesh Ramdin, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Marlon Samuels, Runako Morton, Darren Sammy, Rawl Lewis, Ravi Rampaul, Jerome Taylor, Fidel Edwards.

Umpires: Brian Jerling and Rudi Koertzen (both Rsa). TV umpire: Ian Howell (Rsa). Match referee: Javagal Srinath (Ind).

Big hitting England canter to empathic victory
West Indies end Aussie tour with t20 victory
Kiwis bounce back in style to seal 55 run win
Big hitting England romp to 40 run victory
Sri Lanka end tour with t20 series victory
Mathews guides Sri Lanka to five wicket victory
Yuvraj Singh sees off Pakistan to level series
Proteas cruise to series victory over the Kiwis
Early wobble not enough to derail Pakistan
Cricket tickets
England vs India tickets
England vs Sri Lanka tickets
Twenty20 finals day tickets
Buy or sell tickets on Seatwave
Europe's No1 Ticket Exchange
T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB