ECB leave the IPL door open

Source -

England's touring schedule of the West Indies next year may open the door for the likes of Kevin Pietersen to compete in the lucrative Indian Premier League.

The tour will finish on 4 April, leaving a window for players to play in the tournament that starts on 10 April.

English representation in this year's event was limited to just Dimitri Mascheranas, but several players have declared their interest.

English cricketers wishing to compete in the IPL currently need ECB approval.

Sajid Mahmood and Ravi Bopara have both rejected lucrative deals to join the league in order to enhance the chances with England, while Pietersen and Andrew Flintoff have also been mentioned as welcome additions.

This year's inaugural IPL clashed with the start of the new County campaign as well as New Zealand's tour of England.

However, the early finish to next year's tour of the Caribbean means there could be an opportunity for more players to sign for Indian teams.

The chance to play in the IPL could also be seen as a good warm-up for England's players ahead of the ICC World Twenty20 that is being staged in England next summer.

Next year's itinerary will see England play two three-day practice matches in Barbados, before Tests in Jamaica, Antigua, Barbados and Trinidad.

There will also be a Twenty20 fixture, England's first in the Caribbean, and a five-match one-day international series finishing with a day-night international in St Lucia.

Big hitting England canter to empathic victory
West Indies end Aussie tour with t20 victory
Kiwis bounce back in style to seal 55 run win
Big hitting England romp to 40 run victory
Sri Lanka end tour with t20 series victory
Mathews guides Sri Lanka to five wicket victory
Yuvraj Singh sees off Pakistan to level series
Proteas cruise to series victory over the Kiwis
Early wobble not enough to derail Pakistan
Cricket tickets
England vs India tickets
England vs Sri Lanka tickets
Twenty20 finals day tickets
Buy or sell tickets on Seatwave
Europe's No1 Ticket Exchange
T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB