Vettori misses out, Kiwis to bowl first

James Fiztpatrick | cricket20

New Zealand captain Brendan McCullum has won the toss and elected to to bowl first in today's Twenty20 international between Pakistan and New Zealand.

McCullum is the Kiwi captain after Daniel Vettoti failed to recover from an hand injury that he picked up in the second of New Zealand's ODI against Pakistan last week.

With Jacob Oram, Kyle Mills and James Franklin already out injured the loss of Vettoti will be a blow for the Kiwis who are looking for their first win over Pakistan in the shortest format of the game.

Bradley-John Watling will make his Twenty20 debut for the Kiwis. Ian Butler and Nathan McCullum also feature after be left out of the one day series last week.

Pakistan will be playing their first Twenty20 game since winning the Twenty20 World Cup in the summer, new captain Shahid Afridi will be looking to get off to a winning start in the Twenty20 format.

Imran Nazir will open for Pakistan, while Sohail Tanvir will get another chance to earn a regular place in Pakistan's Twenty20 line up.

Pakistan team - Kamran Akmal, Imran Nazir, Shoaib Malik, Shahid Afridi, Umar Akmal, Fawad Alam, Abdul Razzaq, Mohammad Aamer, Umar Gul, Sohail Tanvir, Saeed Ajmal.

New Zealand team - BB McCullum, AJ Redmond, MJ Guptill, LRPL Taylor, SB Styris, NT Broom, BJ Watling, NL McCullum, TG Southee, IG Butler, SE Bond.

Big hitting England canter to empathic victory
West Indies end Aussie tour with t20 victory
Kiwis bounce back in style to seal 55 run win
Big hitting England romp to 40 run victory
Sri Lanka end tour with t20 series victory
Mathews guides Sri Lanka to five wicket victory
Yuvraj Singh sees off Pakistan to level series
Proteas cruise to series victory over the Kiwis
Early wobble not enough to derail Pakistan
Cricket tickets
England vs India tickets
England vs Sri Lanka tickets
Twenty20 finals day tickets
Buy or sell tickets on Seatwave
Europe's No1 Ticket Exchange
T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB