O’Keefe stars for Aussies as Pakistan falter

Deepankar Kaur | cricket20

Steve O’Keefe picked up three wickets on his international debut for Australia to help the Aussies restrict Pakistan to a total of just 162-9 in the second of two Twenty20 International at Edgbaston.

Having won the toss Pakistan got off to a poor start losing Shahzaib Hasan (0) who was trapped LBW by David Hussey from just the fourth delivery of the innings after Michael Clarke decided to opener with a spinner.

Despite the earlier lose Salman Butt (31) and Kamran Akmal (33) enjoyed a second wicket partnership of 61 which allowed Pakistan edge in front during the power play overs.

The Aussies managed to strike back when spinner, O’Keefe picked up his first ever Twenty20 international wicket from just his 6th delivery of his Australian career when Cameron White caught Butt at the end of the 7th over.

Akmal and Shoaib Malik (12) quickly followed before Umar Akmal (25) and Shahid (18) built a 30 run 5th wicket partnership before Dirk Nannes picked up two wickets in the space of two balls to remove the big hitting pair.

With the home side 130-6 the Aussies took control of the innings with Hussey coming back into the attack and although he conceded 11 runs he ran out Abdul Razzaq (3) at the end of the 17th over.

O’Keefe increased the pressure by picking up the wickets of Umar Gul (0) and Shoaib Akhtar (0) before Mohammad Aamer (21) and Saeed Ajmal (6) saw out the last over bowled by Shaun Tait.

Big hitting England canter to empathic victory
West Indies end Aussie tour with t20 victory
Kiwis bounce back in style to seal 55 run win
Big hitting England romp to 40 run victory
Sri Lanka end tour with t20 series victory
Mathews guides Sri Lanka to five wicket victory
Yuvraj Singh sees off Pakistan to level series
Proteas cruise to series victory over the Kiwis
Early wobble not enough to derail Pakistan
Cricket tickets
England vs India tickets
England vs Sri Lanka tickets
Twenty20 finals day tickets
Buy or sell tickets on Seatwave
Europe's No1 Ticket Exchange
T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB