Pakistan clinches series victory over Australia

Javinder Singh | cricket20

Pakistan clinched a 2-0 series victory over Australia thanks to a 11 run victory against the Aussies in the second of two Twenty20 internationals at Edgbaston to gain revenge after their Twenty20 World Cup semi final defeat.

The Aussies who were looking to bounce back after last nights 23 run defeat were set a total of 163 to chase in order to claim a series tying victory.

They got off to a poor start losing David Warner (1) and Tim Paine (0) early on but Michael Clarke (30) lead the recovering smashing 6 fours before he was bowled by Mohammad Aamer in the 3rd over to leave the Aussies 33-3.

With Pakistan on top James Hopes (30) and David Hussey (33) fought bat with a vital partnership of 50 to leave the game in the balance with still 9 overs to go despite the loss of Hopes who was stumped by Kamran Akmal as Shahid Afridi claimed the vital breakthrough.

Cameron White could only add 7 runs and when Hussey was caught by Saeed Ajmal of his own bowling the Aussies were left staring at back to back defeats.

Although Michael Hussey scored a quick fire 25 Pakistan held on to record an impressive victory.

Having won the toss Pakistan got off to a poor start losing Shahzaib Hasan (0) who was trapped LBW by David Hussey from just the fourth delivery of the innings after Michael Clarke decided to opener with a spinner.

Despite the earlier lose Salman Butt (31) and Kamran Akmal (33) enjoyed a second wicket partnership of 61 which allowed Pakistan edge in front during the power play overs.

The Aussies managed to strike back when spinner, O’Keefe picked up his first ever Twenty20 international wicket from just his 6th delivery of his Australian career when Cameron White caught Butt at the end of the 7th over.

Akmal and Shoaib Malik (12) quickly followed before Umar Akmal (25) and Shahid (18) built a 30 run 5th wicket partnership before Dirk Nannes picked up two wickets in the space of two balls to remove the big hitting pair.

With the home side 130-6 the Aussies took control of the innings with Hussey coming back into the attack and although he conceded 11 runs he ran out Abdul Razzaq (3) at the end of the 17th over.

O’Keefe increased the pressure by picking up the wickets of Umar Gul (0) and Shoaib Akhtar (0) before Mohammad Aamer (21) and Saeed Ajmal (6) saw out the last over bowled by Shaun Tait.

Big hitting England canter to empathic victory
West Indies end Aussie tour with t20 victory
Kiwis bounce back in style to seal 55 run win
Big hitting England romp to 40 run victory
Sri Lanka end tour with t20 series victory
Mathews guides Sri Lanka to five wicket victory
Yuvraj Singh sees off Pakistan to level series
Proteas cruise to series victory over the Kiwis
Early wobble not enough to derail Pakistan
Cricket tickets
England vs India tickets
England vs Sri Lanka tickets
Twenty20 finals day tickets
Buy or sell tickets on Seatwave
Europe's No1 Ticket Exchange
T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB