Sri Lanka cruise to comprehensive victory

Javinder Singh | cricket20

Sri Lanka cruised to a comprehensive 7 wicket victory over a disappointing Australia side thanks to an impressive performance at the WACA in Perth.

Having restricted the Aussies to a total of just 133-8; Sri Lanka never looked troubled during their run chase which saw them complete victory with over 2 overs to spare.

The tourists lost Mahela Jayawardene (24) and Dinesh Chandimal (2) early on but a partnership of 71 from Kumar Sangakkara (44) and Tillakaratne Dilshan (41) helped Sri Lanka condemn the Aussies to their fourth straight Twenty20 defeat.

Despite the loss of Dilshan near the end of the run chase Thisara Perera completed the victory by smashing Steven Smith for two sixes and a four at the start of the 17th over.

Having won the toss the Aussies got off to a slow with Dilhara Fernando and Lasith Malinga denying openers; David Warner and skipper Michael Clarke any easy runs during the opening 3 overs.

With the pressure already mounting Fernando made the early breakthrough with the final ball of the third over thanks to an excellent catch by Thisara Perera at mid off to remove Warner (2).

Clarke (16) offered some resistantís; smashing a delivery from Muttiah Muralitharan 97 meters over log off for a massive six before he was caught by Muralitharan an over later to give Perera his first wicket of the night.

Shane Watson (4), David Hussey (7) and Cameron White (8) quickly followed to leave a shell shocked Australia 43-5 after 10.1 over to put Sri Lanka completely in control of the game.

Despite the precarious position the Aussies fought back with Smith (34) and Haddin (35) smashing 6 fours and 2 sixes during a partnership which lasted 7 overs before Smith was stumped by Kumar Sangakkara to give Suraj Randiv the breakthrough.

Haddin followed 2 balls later as the Aussies counter attack was stalled by Randiv who picked up his third wicket of the evening to leave the home side 110-7 with only 2 overs remaing.

With the partnership broken Twenty20 international debutants John Hastings (15) and Clint McKay (6) came to the crease adding 23 valuable runs to give the home side a small chance of claiming the victory.

Big hitting England canter to empathic victory
West Indies end Aussie tour with t20 victory
Kiwis bounce back in style to seal 55 run win
Big hitting England romp to 40 run victory
Sri Lanka end tour with t20 series victory
Mathews guides Sri Lanka to five wicket victory
Yuvraj Singh sees off Pakistan to level series
Proteas cruise to series victory over the Kiwis
Early wobble not enough to derail Pakistan
Cricket tickets
England vs India tickets
England vs Sri Lanka tickets
Twenty20 finals day tickets
Buy or sell tickets on Seatwave
Europe's No1 Ticket Exchange
T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB