Southee hat trick helps Kiwis cruise to victory

Felix Austin | cricket20

New Zealand ended their 11 game losing streak in all formats of the game thanks to a 5 wicket victory over Pakistan at Eden Park in Auckland.

Tim Southee (5-18) lead the way with an inspired spell of bowling which saw him pick up 5 wickets in the space of just 8 balls which included just the third ever international Twenty20 hat trick.

Faced with a total of just 144 the Kiwis cruised to victory thanks to stand in skipper Ross Taylor who smashed a quick fore 39 after Martin Guptill (54) had got the home side;s run chase under way in style.

The opener smashed 4 fours and 4 sixes during a 29 ball innings which saw him record his highest ever score in Twenty20 international cricket.

Having won the toss New Zealand put the visitors into bat and despite a solid start from Mohammad Hafeez (24) and Shahid Afridi (20) it was the Kiwi’s who took control of the game thanks to Southee.

With Afridi already back in to dugout; Southee made his mark by removing Ahmed Shehzad (14) at the end of the 6th over before he turned the game on its head in the 8th.

With Pakistan 58-2 Southee ripped through the middle order dismissing Younis Khan (2), Mohammad Hafeez and Umar Akmal (0) to claim an impressive hat trick to leave the visitors in disarray.

Although Umar Gul (30) and Wahab Riaz (30) added some valuable runs at the bottom of the order the advantage was still with the Kiwis who reached victory with 17 balls to spare.

Big hitting England canter to empathic victory
West Indies end Aussie tour with t20 victory
Kiwis bounce back in style to seal 55 run win
Big hitting England romp to 40 run victory
Sri Lanka end tour with t20 series victory
Mathews guides Sri Lanka to five wicket victory
Yuvraj Singh sees off Pakistan to level series
Proteas cruise to series victory over the Kiwis
Early wobble not enough to derail Pakistan
Cricket tickets
England vs India tickets
England vs Sri Lanka tickets
Twenty20 finals day tickets
Buy or sell tickets on Seatwave
Europe's No1 Ticket Exchange
T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB