McCullum and Guptill seal Kiwi series victory

Deepankar Kaur | cricket20

Brendon McCullum and Martin Guptill enjoyed another explosive opening stand to help New Zealand cruise to a 34 run victory against Zimbabwe to seal a 2-0 series triumph over the hosts.

Having been put into bat, McCullum and Guptill shared an opening stand of 120 to help New Zealand post a mammoth total of 187 from just 18 overs in a rain shortened match at the Harare Sports Club.

Guptill led the way, scoring 67 runs which included seven boundaries and two sixes while McCullum (64) followed closely behind dispatching six sixes and two boundaries before he was bowled by Kyle Jarvis (2-36) at the start of the 12th over.

Jarvis struck again four overs later to remove Guptill before Jessie Ryder smashed a quick fore 30 to leave Zimbabwe facing a Duckworth Lewis total of 189.

Despite the loss of Hamilton Masakadza (9) and Brendan Taylor (1) early on, Chamu Chibhabha (65) and Elton Chigumbura (39) gave the hosts hope of squaring the series with a 3rd wicket stand of 57.

With the home side making good progress, Nathan McCullum (3-23) struck to remove Chigumbura in the 10th over and picked up the wicket of Chibhabha soon after to put the Kiwis in control.

Forster Mutizwa enjoyed a cameo of 22 but when he was run out in the 17th over, Zimbabwe suffered a lower order collapse which saw them reduced to a total of just 154 to hand an easy victory to the Kiwis.

Big hitting England canter to empathic victory
West Indies end Aussie tour with t20 victory
Kiwis bounce back in style to seal 55 run win
Big hitting England romp to 40 run victory
Sri Lanka end tour with t20 series victory
Mathews guides Sri Lanka to five wicket victory
Yuvraj Singh sees off Pakistan to level series
Proteas cruise to series victory over the Kiwis
Early wobble not enough to derail Pakistan
Cricket tickets
England vs India tickets
England vs Sri Lanka tickets
Twenty20 finals day tickets
Buy or sell tickets on Seatwave
Europe's No1 Ticket Exchange
T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB