Cobras cruise to victory in one sided final

Aaron Moores | cricket20

The Nashua Cape Cobras claimed their third Standard Bank Pro20 Series title in the space of 4 years thanks to a 12 run victory over the Chevrolet Warriors at Newlands.

Kelly Smuts threatened to cause a shock thanks to a 28 ball half century for the defending champions but the Cape Cobras held the Warriors at bay to record victory.

Faced with a run chase of 167 the Warriors got off to a poor start after Ashwell Prince (21) and Davy Jacobs (13) were unable to break the shackles during a first wicket partnership of just 26.

With the run rate increasing Prince tried to take a quick single but having been turned back by Jacobs he was run out after a direct hit from Justin Ontong in the covers.

Jacobs and Mark Boucher (4) soon followed for the Warriors and even though Smuts kept the visitors in the hunt with a brisk innings of 56 the Cape Cobras maintained the pressure as further wickets tumbled.

Having been put into bat by the Warriors, the Cobras got off to a flying start thanks to an opening stand of 88 between Richard Levi (45) and Herschelle Gibbs (35).

To their credit the Warriors fought back thanks to Justin Kreusch who bowled Gibbs in the 9th over before Nicky Boje removed Levi with the first delivery of the 10th over.

Despite the further lose of Justin Ontong (6), Dane Vilas (5) and Justin Kemp (6) Owais Shah (39) and Vernon Philander (17) put the Cobras in control with a sixth wicket partnership of 36 to leave the Warriors chasing a total of 167.
Cobras cruise to victory in one sided final
Cobras claim victory after dramatic shoot out
Boucher seals tense victory for Warriors
Cobras cruise to 8 wicket victory over Titans
Thyssen leads Warriors to 4 wicket victory
Dolphins end group stages with 3 wicket victory
Cobras cruise into Pro20 Semi Finals
Morkel helps Titans seal semi final spot
Warriors hold on to secure semi final place
Cricket tickets
England vs India tickets
England vs Sri Lanka tickets
Twenty20 finals day tickets
Buy or sell tickets on Seatwave
Europe's No1 Ticket Exchange
T20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB