cricket20 :: India win bowl out thriller
t20 World Cup News
India win bowl out thriller

India won a dramtic bowl-out 3-0 to beat Pakistan and seal their place in the Super Eights after their Twenty20 World Cup Group D match ended in a thrilling tie.

Pakistan, who had already qualified, needed one to win off the last ball in Durban but Misbah-ul-Haq (53) was run out and the game went into a bowl-out.

India's first three all hit the stumps but Pakistan's top three all missed.

India were reeling after Mohammad Asif took 4-18 in a superb spell, but Robin Uthappa's 50 helped India to 141-9.

Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh and Robin Uthappa all hit the leg-stump while Pakistan's Yasir Arafat, Umar Gul and Shahid Afridi all missed.

Asif vindicated Pakistan's decision to put in their arch-rivals by holding a superb return catch to dismiss Gautam Gambhir for a duck off the match's third ball.

He bowled Virender Sehwag in his next over, had Yuvraj Singh caught at mid-on by captain Shoaib Malik in his third over and finished by bowling Dinesh Karthik in his final over.

Uthappa hit Yasir Arafat for two magnificent sixes to the delight of the India fans in the packed Kingsmead stands.

But Sohail Tanvir had Uthappa caught behind soon after to leave the onus on Dhoni.

Left-hander Irfan Pathan hit Shahid Afridi's spin on to the roof of the main stand and spanked another booming six off the next delivery, before Afridi bowled him for 20 off 15 balls in a three-ball spell which encapsulated all the excitement of Twenty20 cricket.

A third, brief rain delay interrupted the thrilling entertainment just as Dhoni seemed to be getting into his stride.

Afridi bowled Harbhajan Singh almost immediately after the resumption and Umar Gul dismissed dangerman Dhoni when the Indian captain mis-timed a slower delivery high into the floodlit sky.

Ajit Agarkar's 14 at the death helped India push up the total as they sought to ensure their run-rate remains high enough to eliminate Scotland - even if they lose.

RP Singh took out Imran Nazir's leg stump in his second over but Pakistan seemed intent on going for a quick victory to knock their arch-rivals out of the tournament.

Wicket-keeper Kamran Akmal, promoted up the order, blasted a six and a four to set pulses racing.

But Salman Butt struggled to live up to the required rate and was caught by Dhoni off Agarkar for a sluggish 17 off 25 balls.

Yuvraj swooped to run out Akmal after a mix-up and Pathan bowled Younus, and all of a sudden India were scenting victory as Pakistan lost three wickets for three runs.

Malik and Misbah-ul-Haq put on 40 for the fifth wicket before Harbhajan Singh removed the skipper but not even the belligerent Afridi could rescue Pakistan.

Agarkar dropped Afridi from a towering straight whack but Dinesh Karthik held another high chance off a Harbhajan full toss to dismiss the big-hitter for seven.

Misbah blasted a big six and a four to leave Pakistan needing 29 from the final two overs.

Misbah and Yasir Arafat hit 17 off the penultimate over and only 12 were needed off the last six balls.

The Indian duo got the scores level but could not manage a run off the last ball as Sree Santh bowled a tight line and the bowler even managed to run Misbah out.

t20, Twenty20 and Twenty20 Cup are registered trade marks of the England and Wales Cricket Board Limited (the “ECB”).
Products and services on this website are not offered in connection with, or with the endorsement of the ECB